welcome to the world

Just a quick note from my phone.
Thank you all so much for all the love. It is truly helping sustain us.

Baby Z is doing pretty well, all things considered. Not quite 4.5 lbs and needs some help breathing, but not even on a ventilator.

The most amazing thing — aside from the fact that she was born at all– was holding her skin to skin on my chest, as soon as they would let me, about 5 hours after delivery. Heavenly bliss.

I’m on drugs, got my own joy button at my fingertips. Starting to pump tonight and we’ll see what happens. Mac will stay the night, and we’ll see if I can get my ass in a wheelchair to get back down to the NICU soon.

As for the birth story, well that will have to wait. Let’s just say that it took an entire village. But we made it.

~ by luna on September 2, 2011.

49 Responses to “welcome to the world”

  1. YAAAAAAAAY! Congratulations to you, Mac, and big-sister Jaye 🙂

  2. This is my most favorite blogworld event ever.

    Happy feelin’s, luna. I’m floating on happy feelin’s.

  3. Welcome to the world, Z! You have chosen a marvelous family.

    Don’t be shy about asking the nurses to get you into that wheelchair and take you to the NICU, even when Mac’s not around. You’ll have to have someone take you back eventually, so keep the recovery unit phone number with you.

    As I’ve said before, don’t be shy about asking for constant help from LCs, and getting different LCs if the ones you’re encountering aren’t very helpful. They will tell you to be patient and wait for the colostrum and then milk to come. They won’t think of things like taking prolactin levels, so feel free to boss them around. Esp. if they’re drawing your blood anyway. Better to have more information as soon as possible so that you know how best to intervene (or when to say when).

    Don’t be shy about resting either. Z is in good hands. The rest is healing for you and therefore for her.

    Sending lots of love from east to west!

  4. Yay!!!!!!! Welcome, welcome Ms. Z. So glad to hear that she is doing so well (4.5 lbs is incredible) and that you were already able to hold her.

  5. Wheee! Welcome to the outside world, baby Z! Congratulations!

    So glad to hear everyone is ok. And I hope your NICU experience is as trouble-free and as brief as possible.

  6. Okay, I just burst into tears here. Yayyyy!! Happy Birthday, Z! And good job, mama. So proud of you! : )

  7. Wonderful news!!!!! Welcome to the world baby Z!!!!

  8. I’ve been refreshing your page so often I think my browser knows the way!;) I am so so so happy to hear that Baby Z is here and doing well–4.5 lbs is great! And glad to hear you’re doing well enough to post. Best wishes to you all. Congratulations to the whole family! Please make sure you rest while you can- at least a little.

  9. Oh, Luna! After having a candle lit for you all evening, I just went to blow it out and it just would not stop burning – and I just knew that she had arrived and that she is strong. Welcome, Z – you are so loved. And to you, Luna, and Mac and Jaye – congratulations just doesn’t cover it but will have to do. Will be keeping candles, both real and figurative, lit for you constantly in the coming days. Much love to all of you.

  10. CONGRATULATIONS!!! I can’t wait to hear the details!

  11. Yay! Congratulations!!! Just woke up and your blog was the first thing I checked, so glad to read everything is OK. Welcome to the world baby Z!

  12. Good to hear you are both doing well. Hope you’re soon feeling much better.

  13. Yahooooooooo! Welcome to the world, sweet baby Z. Congrats to the whole Luna Family!!!!

  14. Wow! I go away to a family wedding and don’t check up on you for a couple of days and all this happens! So very relieved to hear that both you and baby Z are doing well. Much love to you all. xx

  15. YAYAYAY!!!!! Welcome, baby Z!!

    Now let us know what we can do for you, eh? Sending you all my love!

    WHEE!!!!

  16. Welcome, welcome, welcome Z!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You will be home with your awesome family before you know it. What wonderful news to come back to. Wishing you a quick recovery.
    Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  17. Congratulations! So good to hear that everyone is okay.

  18. CONGRATS!!!! Welcome to the world Baby Z! Wishing you guys all the happiness in the world!

  19. Congratulations! So glad she is here!

  20. Congratulations! So much to be grateful for, and I will continue to pray for you and your family (of 4!) in the days ahead. I’m thrilled for you all.

  21. Congratulations! So glad she is here! Welcome, baby Z!

  22. Wow, congratulations and welcome to the world Baby Z. We’ve been waiting for you.

    I can only imagine what this monumental feat must feel like in all its surrealness. I wish you a smooth recovery and that Baby Z meet each NICU milestone with gusto.

  23. Congratulations!

  24. Absolutely Amazing!!!!! Yay!!!!! gla dyou posted that you were both alright, I was worried more about you then her, we know she’s one strong little girl ready to beat all odds.
    I’m so gla dyou got to hold her, skin to skin I kow it wasn’t your planned delievery but still She’s Here!!!! can’t wait to hear more. Congratulations!

  25. Congratulations and wishing you every happiness! Whooopeee!!!

  26. Huge, happy tears. Congratulations, Luna! And welcome to the world, Baby Z.

  27. delurking to say congratulations and welcome and i am so, so glad to hear all of this. you have all been in my lurker-y thoughts.

  28. I let out a real loud WOOT when I heard the news. SO grateful and happy that it all went down this way.

    Welcome to the world, Baby Z!

    And happy happy joy joy button to you, Luna!

  29. So happy to hear you and Z are doing well. Hoping she masters breathing in no time and her feeding goes well.

  30. Welcome Baby Z!!!
    I hope you guys all recover quickly and get to head home together soon!!!!

  31. Yay! Welcome to a big world of love, Baby Z! Congrats, Momma, Daddy and Big Sister Jaye! What a miracle!

  32. Congrats! So glad you’re both doing so well, and am looking forward to moer details when you have more time and energy. You’ve got me in tears for you here!
    Hope all goes well with the pumping and establishing breastfeeding. I had enough troubles myself with an overdue baby, but then hormonal issues are the basis of my IF, and not yours. With a good pump and a good lactation consultant, you should be just fine. Hope baby Z continues to thrive and gets home with you quickly.

  33. Congratulations! What wonderful news! Welcome, Baby Z! Sending lots of peaceful and healing thoughts to all of you.

  34. This is the best news of the weekend, actually, of the whole week! {exhale!}
    Thanks for keeping us updated. I am sure that everyone else was also thinking about you. So happy you’re on the “other side” and all is well.

  35. This made my day! Welcome, Z!

  36. Holy Freaking Crap! I just stopped by to “check in” and you’ve gone and had your BABY!! I’m so sorry it was all so scary but thank God you are both safe and sound. Congratulations, dear Luna. May peace, healing, good health, and lots and lots of LOVE be with you, baby and your family. You are an amazing woman!!!! xoxoxoxo

  37. Congrats luna mac and Jaye ! Welcome to this world Baby Z!
    So happy for all of you!

  38. Amazing! So glad to hear the good news.

  39. Oh, Luna, what wonderful, wonderful news! I’ll admit, many of your posts make me emotional, but just seeing the title brought me to happy tears for you. Sending lots of love to you, Mac, and your two little girls.

  40. You and me … Now we both have two little girls, who came to us in completely different ways & we get to love fiercely. Forever.

    I am SO happy to read this update. Been willing you strength & resolve from the other side of the country.

    What an awesome birth weight!!! That’s truly splendid. Good baking, Mama!

    Can’t wait to read more, and eventually spy a photo of your girls together.

    Xoxo.

  41. Happy, happy news. I am wishing you quick healing and for all four of you to be home soon.

    Congrats Luna! I am so relieved and thrilled to hear the two of you are doing so well.

  42. Congrats, Congrats, CONGRATULATIONS!!! Oh my, you are able to post and baby Z doesn’t need a ventilator. That is about as good as it could be, no? Oh, I’m just so happy for ALL of you.

    Welcome baby Z!

  43. Hello Baby Z, breathe easy and breathe in the love of the people who love you – breathe in and out and grow and laugh and cry and drink in the love of people who love you – I’m so happy for you and M and J. So happy. I wish I could lay eyes on the miracle of this child. Oh my.

  44. Congrats! Wishing youna speedy recovery and I hope baby Z can come home quickly. She’s a nice size for 33 weeks…well done momma!

  45. wooo hooo!

  46. Tears of joy for you. congratulations. much healing and breathing and growing wished for you and baby Z.

  47. Congratulations!! Very happy everything worked out in the end. I hope your body heals, at least your heart must be full of happiness so that’s a big positive!!

  48. Very belated congratulations!! I have popped by for a quick peek to see how you were doing but haven’t had a chance to read all the details until now. To say I am happy for you is an understatement. Congratuations, dear Luna!! : ) : ) : )

  49. […] alone in the hospital while my husband panicked to get there in time. He did. Then an hour later, Baby Z entered the world, after a most traumatic experience on the table. I still have been unable to put those memories and […]

Leave a Reply

 
