15 years

Tomorrow we will celebrate the 15th anniversary of the day we joined together, shared our vows and declared before our little community that we were forever.

Beneath a cathedral of majestic towering redwoods, under a blue moon, we committed to one another, come what may. I was 27 years old and Mac was 29. We still had our lives ahead of us.

Certainly we have been tested since that sweltering hot summer day. We’ve shared tears of joy, of sorrow.

We’ve come so far together. We’ve grown up together, really, each evolving with the love and care of the other. We suffered years of heartache and longing, and then we finally became parents together.

After more than 20 years together, I feel like I’ve said it all before. But you can never say too often how lucky you are to find your missing piece, your soulmate. You can never tell someone you love them too many times, when you truly mean it.

Today, we are living through a crazy most unexpected moment in time. After finding a place in our lives where we were deeply content, we are now facing great tumult and uncertainty. We are still processing it all. I don’t know how this will end, but I do know that I couldn’t get through this — or any other major life issue — without the love and support of the most incredible man and father I have ever met.

Just as the burden of any challenge is shared, the joys are twice as sweet.

I am so grateful to have Mac to share my life, in all its splendor and chaos. Thank you, my love, simply for being you.

Happy 15th Anniversary, to my one true love. There is no place I’d rather be than by your side through it all.

copyright 2011: life from here: musings from the edge

~ by luna on June 29, 2011.

10 Responses to “15 years”

  1. Happy 15th Anniversary! Here’s to many, many more to come!

  2. Happy anniversary, Luna and Mac! They’re all memorable in their own rights, but this one is especially one for the books!

  3. Happy Anniversary! It is so completely you to get married among the redwoods.

  4. Happy Anniversary, Luna and Mac!

  5. A gorgeous tribute to your love. Here’s to 15 more!

  6. Happy Anniversary, my Love. You are my Universe.

  7. This is so beautifully written. Happy anniversary and may you have many many many more to come.

  8. Happy belated Anniversary!

  9. […] I turned 42 and I felt old. Then I realized I had spent nearly half my life with Mac, my soul mate, and I felt grateful. A month later we celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary. […]

  10. […] visited our new home and offered to sit one night so we could finally have a proper date. We chose our fifteenth anniversary to go out on our first date in over two years. When we got home, she refused to take money except […]

Leave a Reply

 
