14 years ago…

Fourteen years ago today, we pledged our love and exchanged sacred vows in a majestic grove of  ancient redwoods, in the shade of the blazing hot sun, under a blue moon, amidst friends and family and tears of joy.

We had already been together more than five years, which if you do the math will indicate that this is our 20th(!) year together.

Our path has taken many twists and turns since that magnificent summer afternoon, all of which have led us to this day. For better or worse, through thick and thin, in sickness and health. I don’t like to think that everything we’ve been through happens “for a reason,” because I believe that sometimes simple chaos rules. The forces of the universe keep spinning and time passes and life keeps on moving. Sometimes you keep up, sometimes you fall behind. Sometimes we’re out of whack, and sometimes we’re perfectly aligned. I think the best we can hope for is some sort of balance, some synergy.

I am grateful to have had such a solid grounding force in my life as M. My life before him is a distant memory and my life without him seems an impossibility.

Last year, we were beyond grateful to celebrate lucky 13 with a tiny newborn in our arms.

This year, we’re celebrating a full week of sleeping through the night, for the first time in, well, about a year and a month. And of course we’re celebrating the fact that we’ve made it to this day.

Happy 14 years of marriage, my love. Eternal gratitude for your undying support, love, faith, passion, laughter and friendship. There is no where else I’d rather be but on this path with you.

~ by luna on June 29, 2010.

25 Responses to “14 years ago…”

  1. Today is D and my 14th too. Hope yours is happy!

  2. Happy anniversary! May there be many more happy (sleepfilled) years.

  3. Happy Anniversary! we are at 10 in 1 month!

  4. Thank you for sharing this great journey with me. I love you and Happy 14th Anniversary!

  5. Happy Happy Anniversary!

  6. Happy Anniversary! We had our 13th earlier this month and I understand what you say- I can’t imagine the last 13 years without him- he has been my rock as I know M has done for you.
    I hope you have a beautiful time together celebrating with your little family! Lots of love to you in the many, many happy years to come!

  7. Love the shadow portrait.

    Happy anniversary to you, Mama and Papa. May you have many more blue moons together.

    And nice of J to give you the gift of sleep, right on cue!

  8. Happy anniversary, Luna & M! 🙂

  9. Happy anniversary! 20 years is amazing. DH and I will have known each other for 20 years in 2012. It’s hard to believe how young we were (24) but at the time I thought we were pretty old.

  10. What a great love story. Happy anniversary!

  11. Happy Anniversary!

  12. Happy anniversary!

  13. Raising a glass of prosecco to you both – may your love and laughter be the breath of life for your baby girl. I’m still senidng you a gift, I was looking for this particular item, which has since sold out, so I’m waiting for something else….. Smooches.

  14. Happy Anniversary!

  15. Hope your anniversary was wonderful 🙂

  16. Congratulations! We were married the same day! Yes, 14 years ago too! We’ve been together for 22 years… This year we celebrated our first anniversary dinner as a party of 3… 🙂

  17. Happy [belated] anniversary to you both!

  18. Happy anniversary! Much love to both you and the amazing M!

  19. Congratulations, Luna!

  20. Happy anniversary!

  21. What a wonderful milestone. Congrats to you guys!

  22. Belated Happy Anniversary, Luna! Hope it was spectacular!

  23. […] on my mind First, thanks for all your anniversary wishes. We had a wonderful afternoon together. We walked to a new cafe for lunch, where we ordered Baby J […]

  24. […] more than 20 years together, I feel like I’ve said it all before. But you can never say too often how lucky you are to find your missing piece, your soulmate. You can […]

Leave a Reply

 
