perfect moment: as good as it gets

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted a Perfect Moment. But I couldn’t let this one pass by without notice.

I had such mixed feelings leading up to Sunday that I wasn’t sure what to make of it all. Yes, it was my first real Mother’s Day. But given how I’ve felt about the day in the past along with other issues surrounding it this year, it hardly seemed like a day of celebration. (I especially enjoyed this essay from noted author Anne Lamott on why she hates Mother’s Day — because it perpetuates the myth that those with children are more important than those without. Of course readers here know that not to be true.)

Anyway, despite my personal ambivalence, (the still Amazing) M was determined to make it a special day.

First, M took the morning feeding so I could sleep in a little (glorious!). When I awoke, he serenaded me in bed with our beautiful daughter (which would have been enough). Already I felt like I had won the jackpot.

But he also had cards and a perfect gift. He said to open the box first. When I saw what it was, something just clicked and the waterworks began. He had gone to our favorite gem store (where my wedding ring was made) and found a gorgeous necklace made from the stone on which our daughter’s name is based. (now I’ve said too much. ETA: her name is not the stone, but maybe something like it.) Just beautiful, I absolutely love it.

But it wasn’t just the jewelry. The cards. Two from M and one from Baby J (funny, her handwriting looks a lot like her Papa’s!) The one from her just got me, thanking me for all my love and the things I do…

“…for all your big warm hugs, for all the yummy food you cook for me with love, for all of the beautiful songs you sing me to sleep with, for all the late nights you hold me when I can’t sleep, for all the comfort you give me when I don’t feel good and don’t know why, for laughing with me and crying with me, for all these reasons and many many more…”

See, I’m all teary now, still.

Have I told you I have the best most amazing husband ever?

I am so very lucky.

These are the things I am privileged to do as our daughter’s mama. I was simply overcome with gratitude, with joy.

Yet perhaps the most perfect moment came when, after I read her card, Baby J herself thrust her little body at me and gave me the biggest sweetest smile and hug.

In that very moment, our little family was just about as perfect as it could possibly be.

~ by luna on May 9, 2010.

10 Responses to “perfect moment: as good as it gets”

  1. Sounds like a lovely Mother’s Day! I’m so glad!

  2. I”m so glad you got to enjoy it. I love the fact that on mother’s day I have become a mom to the most wonderful little girl ever, and yes it sucked and I would be housebound before, other then I love my mom, but other then that I think we all felt the same about the day. Now I enjoy it it and enjoy my daughter as well.

  3. I’ve almost got a tear in my eye! You do indeed have an amazing husband. And daughter. And darn if you don’t deserve all that loving tenfold.

    The necklace is gorgeous. I’m so happy that you had a wonderful Sunday.

  4. Awww…what a perfect way to start the day 🙂
    Loved the essay you posted.

  5. […] and the rest of it First a perfect moment, and now the rest of […]

  6. Such an amazing day. I love that name too, always have. I have dissed you luna. Not on purpose of course, but I need to catch up with you girl. I will back read the next few days. xoxo

  7. what a little sweetie she is for knowing that perfect moment to jump and give you a hug. Ahhhhhhhh, this is what it is all about!

  8. Glad it was a great day. The cards sound wonderful and the necklace is beautiful and all that food (except the sushi of which I’m not a fan) is sort of like torture for me. Especially craving the strawberries.

  9. Beautiful. And thank you for sharing her name, it really livens up the mental image to go beyond her initial!

  10. It doesn’t get any better than that…So glad you had such an incredible day.

Leave a Reply

 
