ten months and ten days

It is hard to believe our little girl is ten months old already. Where does the time go?

Every day she looks less like a baby and more and more like a little girl. It is astounding to watch her grow and learn. Every day brings something new.

Now she is crawling, pulling herself up to stand, cruising along the sofa while holding on (which her birth grandmother witnessed for the first time two weeks ago), bouncing (or what we call dancing), and babbling up a storm. Her first word was “da da” and it took her a few more weeks to eke out “ma ma” but I’m not complaining.

Just last week she took a few steps towards me while holding my hands. So exciting!

She is strong, curious, smart and funny. Her laughter is the best sound in the world.

Her eyes are still changing color and her hair changes from blondish to reddish.

She is teething like crazy — she has two teeth on the bottom and at least three coming in up top. I wouldn’t be surprised if there are even more coming in. Last Monday we had our first scary boo-boo when she tried to stand while she was tired and slipped from knee height and smashed her face on the kitchen tile floor. I freaked out when I saw blood in her mouth, but we were lucky it was just a small cut and a fat lip (which healed super quickly).

She is not the best sleeper and still wakes for a bottle in the middle of the night. When I tried to wean her and bounce on the ball instead, I strained my arm and hurt my back before succumbing to the bottle so both of us could go back to sleep. Part of it is comfort, but I think she is actually really hungry at night because she drains the thing, even when we feed her a lot during the day. Looking for some help on that one.

She is getting big. Did I mention she is over 21 pounds?

She loves to eat but she still loves her bottle best. When she sees it coming she starts giggling and kicking her legs, and if you make a pit-stop anywhere before feeding she cries. She’s now eating finger foods like O’s (Barbara’s are sweetened with apples, by the way), and she loves scrambled eggs (the first non-sweet thing she has liked; she even ate it with little pieces of broccoli!). She will also eat little pieces of banana and steamed carrots by herself. But she still likes to be fed by us and she still loves Mama’s purees (yams, butternut squash, carrots, pear, apple). She also loves oatmeal and yogurt with fruit. She did not like lentils (made a hilarious face before spitting them out). I haven’t given her any meat or tofu yet, and I’m not entirely sure how I feel about either one, so I’m struggling to find some good proteins. Going to try refried beans I think (but she didn’t like avocado and they are yummy together!).

I am not looking forward to weaning her off the bottle. Poor girl loves the thing so much.

Since we are now closer to her first birthday than the day she was born, I finally started her baby book. It begins with our letter and our first meeting with K back in December 2008 and goes through her birth in May 2009 and the first month or so of her life. It documents our relationship with K and tells the story of Baby J’s life and how she came to us. There are pictures of K pregnant, ticket stubs from music we saw together, sketches and photos of the nursery wall we painted together, a menu from the Indian cafe we ate at often (including the night K went into labor), pictures of the midwives from the day she was born, and other mementos.

The book tells the story of how Baby J brought us all together to create a beautiful family.

What else? Every day with this baby is a gift. She bring so much joy to our home and family. She challenges me and reminds me to be a better person. I feel so lucky to be this little girl’s Mama. Sometimes I am simply amazed at my good fortune. I am so very grateful. Humbled, really.

~ by luna on April 10, 2010.

18 Responses to “ten months and ten days”

  1. lovely update! such a cutie too:)

    by the way, mine is over 22 lbs already and he’s 3 m younger than J!! it’s so hard on the body isn’t it. my mental image of you on the bouncy ball with her makes my muscles hurt just a bit more!

  2. I love baby books. Hers sounds really special.

    She’s adorable!

  3. Awww, what a cutie. : ) So glad you’ve been working om her baby book — I thought mine had been lost but found it when we were cleaning out my parents’ crawl space last summer — they are truly treasures.

  4. Oh, Baby J is absolutely gorgeous! And look at that chub – so cute! My son is just over 2 and 1/2 years old and still wakes up for a bottle once a week or so. Sometimes he’s growing so quickly that he just can’t get enough food during the day. Have you tried hummus? It was an early mushy food for my son and he still loves it, even super garlicky!

    Reading about the baby book brought me to tears. Your recording of her life from the beginning in such a detailed and inclusive way will demonstrate your dedication to openness in a way that can only solidify your relationship as she grows older. If only all adoptive mothers had the kind of unconditional love and foresight that you possess. As I’ve said before, Baby J is so blessed to have you as her mother.

  5. Don’t forget the lock of hair for the baby book! When I was a kid, I loved to stroke the lock of my baby hair.

    My baby recipe book suggests quinoa, which is an excellent protein. Since my babies will be vegetarians, I’ll be giving them tofu cubes when we get to finger foods — a lot of babies really seem to like it. You might also try a different kind of lentil; personally, I prefer the taste of red lentils over brown.

    As for the bottle, most babies will take a bottle if they happen to wake up in the middle of the night, but it doesn’t mean they really need to eat. If you wake adults up in the middle of the night we’re pretty hungry too. Most nights both of my babies sleep straight through. When they do wake up, I never feed them if it’s after 10 p.m. or so, and they’ve gotten very good at going back to sleep, usually with little or no help from me. I’d suggest that you start reducing the amount you’re giving her at night until you can eliminate the bottle entirely, and she might even stop waking up altogether.

    J looks beautiful!

    • thanks, Cassandra! quinoa is a great idea. we used to eat quite a bit of it, not sure why I haven’t thought of it before? and plain lentils were gross, I tried them and can’t blame her. next time I’ll try red ones and cook them with carrots or something.

      how awesome that both babies sleep through the night for you! very impressive.

  6. She’s a real cutie! I can’t believe it has been 10 months either!
    Teh night waking thing can become a habit quickly more than a need so be careful or it will last for years! What worked for us was just reducing the amt given and watering it down so that it wasn’t worth getting up for after awhile (and of course waiting longer and longer to go in to let baby self soothe if possible).

    I just met with a nutritionist b/c of Cason’s food allergies and got lots of great advice for meeting dietary needs of a 1yr old. I’d go easy on tofu as a protein. Soy, esp in the form of tofu, is still really being investigated as there are many studies that indicate negative effects, (esp on boys) after long term exposure.

    Look at your lentils first. Flax seed, wheat germ, avocado(most babies will refuse it the first few times but give them at least a dozen exposures to it before you abandon it) and of course meat provide many of the vital fats needed for those little brains as they grow and grow. There are lots of organically raised and humanely farmed, chickens, pigs, cows and lots more (for later when she’s two)fresh fish, available.
    I also found that when trying out new foods it’s great to cut it up and let them go for it themselves. Something about the “I can do it myself” leads to more acceptance of the new stuff.

    But you’ll figure it all out and you’ll have a blast doing it too:)

    • thanks, kalakly. I’m with you on the soy. not so sure about it and think it was related to my fibroids. you had some great ideas though, thanks. I think we’re going to start reducing that night bottle and maybe even switch it to water so she knows it’s not worth it.

  7. She’s gorgeous. The baby book sounds really sweet. It’s so nice you have so much to share with her.

  8. Holy, is she ever cute.

    I’m with above — I’d start cutting the amount in the bottle starting now and then progressively getting less. If it were me, I know this sucks, but I’d also see just how long she really frets before you go in. Could be she’s waking up because she’s moving to another sleep cycle and now the bottle is the only way she knows how to get back to sleep. If you do go in, I’d do less every night. I also started Bella on a sippy about this time, and that might get rid of that comfort urge too (although I’d definitely limit that to daytime hours).

    Bella loved avocado from the get-go and still does! Great brain food!

  9. She’s so cute and getting so big.

  10. As always, I love seeing an update of Baby J from you. She is absolutely precious and it sounds like she is growing before your eyes. Looking forward to hearing what you have planned for her first birthday!

  11. Luna, she is beautiful! So many milestones, so many wonderful memories! Her baby book sounds wonderful- something that she will cherish in the years to come. Can’t wait to hear about her first birthday- I know that you will do something to make it extra special!

  12. Sounds like she’s doing everything she should be! She is so cute!

  13. Beautiful young lady. Your post reminds me how quickly these early days go. I am fortunate to have a second and never REALLY wanted a third but it is still somewhat sad to know this is our last. Still it is good to remember to appreciate today and not anticipate a more interesting tomorrow.

  14. So very fast indeed.

    I agree with Tash. My doc even said “he doesn’t need that middle of the night bottle, he’s just fine”. We went cold turkey on the overnights, though with about two nights of rocking and no bottle. Arguably though, V’s a great sleeper, so YMMV.

    I too fretted about him loving the bottle so much, but when he was done, he was done. One day, we just didn’t need to bring it out. Don’t stress too much, no one goes to high school with a bottle or a sippy 🙂

  15. Oh my goodness — I love seeing this picture of her! We’re (finally) weaning Squeaker off the bottle by decreasing the formula to water ratio each week. This week it’s practically water, and he’s not sleeping very well, but I think he’s also teething. We kept him on it for a long time because he really did seem to need the calories — super super active child who didn’t eat much during the day. Now I’m confident that he’s able to get enough calories during the day, I want him to figure out that he can go back to sleep without the bottle, so that eventually, someday, he’ll be able to soothe himself back to sleep without any adult help!! That’s like my biggest most dreamiest dream. It’s a rough transition, though.

    Oh, and ditto the hummus. That’s a big favorite here. And sometimes we sneak garbanzos or lentils into mashed potatoes.

Leave a Reply

 
