two month welcome

It’s not all just poopy diapers here. We’ve had a lot going on the past few weeks.

Last week, my brother and his family flew in from Europe for their first chance to meet Baby J. They hadn’t visited in a while and I hadn’t seen them since last June at the house of the big mouse, so there was a lot of catching up to do. His kids are now 5 and 2, the same ages as our cousins who live nearby, so there was a lot of activity.

My mom and her hub were also visiting and it was her first time meeting Baby J too. She would have come earlier but for a life threatening illness that is consuming her right now. In fact, having her here was a little like caring for two kids, with one having an opinion on just about everything. Her visit was emotionally charged as she was soaking in all the love and beauty of her grandkids, with underlying uncertainty about whether she’ll be around much longer to enjoy us all. More on that some other time…

So to celebrate the gathering of my family, last weekend we had a small yet wonderful party to welcome Baby J to the family. Yes, she’s two months old already, but we haven’t been able to get it together to do something bigger as we had hoped, so we started small with just family.

We planned it around K and she and her mom came bearing fabulous gifts. Since K had only met a few family members before, it was the first time meeting for many. Thankfully it went well! It was an absolutely wonderful day, blending our families in that way, embracing and bonding over love for this beautiful little girl. It makes me teary just thinking about all the love we shared that afternoon. Certainly K was welcomed to our family as well.

its a girl

We took some fantastic pictures to show Baby J some day, including some of the two mamas and two grandmas with this little bundle of love. And no gathering of my family would be complete without shots of the spread. Oh, the food…

spread

I made my famous molten chocolate lava cake, but we had to slice it since we couldn’t resist breaking into it the night before (my sister in law made me do it!).  It was ok though, since we covered it up with berries and also had cheesecake, red vel.vet cupcakes and lemon bars. Yeah, it didn’t suck. We know how to throw down.

spread dessert

To be perfectly honest, I was nervous that someone would say or do something horribly embarassing or unforgiveable. I was worried, for instance, that my brother would engage in some kind of political discussion (he did), or that my step-dad would subject K to some lawyerly interrogation (he did), or that my mom would stick her foot in her mouth (almost). But luckily K had been warned about these possibilities and she took it in stride. K kept saying how good she felt, how happy she was. And her mom called the next day to say how wonderful our family was (whew).

Everyone wanted to hold Baby J, including the kids. Everyone wanted to acknowledge what a beautiful connection we had created, and what a unique story this little girl has. Everyone wanted to offer gratitude that we had found each other. While the kids ran rampant, we applied sun, moon and star tattoos and everyone ate and drank well.

There were many smiles and laughs as we sat outside by the creek on a warm summer day that we will remember forever. With whatever challenges the future may bring in our open adoption, I will cherish those treasured moments for a lifetime.

~ by luna on August 5, 2009.

20 Responses to “two month welcome”

  1. Ok, I’m hungry now looking at all that food.
    I’m so glad that the get together with all of the family members went well and that you have the chance to share all of that with K and her family. It’s wonderful that everyone is able to be there to love that little girl.

  2. Phew. And wow. This all sounds so beautiful and intense. I hope there’s a bit of downtime for you to just sit and soak in it all without having to coordinate and negotiate family — no matter how wonderful! And what wonderful cooks, too!

    Enjoy y’al. Enjoy.

  3. Wow. The food looks wonderful and the party sounds wonderful. I’m so glad to be reading posts like these, with so much room for joy even around the sad things.

  4. Sounds like a wonderful way to welcome Baby J and K into your family. That spread looks amazing!

  5. Sounds like a sweet day and looks like a wonderful spread. Or is it the other way around? It appears it works either way. 🙂

    I am so sorry about your mom. This must be a very trying time for everyone.

  6. I’m glad you got to have this wonderful party with ALL the family!

  7. Dang it. It’s lunchtime and I’m about to make cold cut sandwiches.

    All I want to do is climb through the ‘pooter and lie on your table, pouring yummies down my throat!

    I’m toasting all your connections, and your happiness. Cheers!

  8. Love the family bonding going on=) And yum on all the food!

  9. Just beautiful, Luna.

  10. Luna what a wonderful partay. I’m diggin the meat on those sticks too. What a beautiful memory making day my friend.

  11. Forgot to mention your mom is my thoughts and so are you….

  12. What a party! YUM! 🙂 I can’t say enough about how amazing the family is that you’re creating. So many moments in Lily’s life, I’ve wished I could share with A, but she is still wanting no contact. What an awesome thing that you can unite around a baby that brings everyone so much joy. I loved reading this! 🙂

  13. Good thing I had myself some ice cream before looking at that amazing dessert spread. Though the savories were clearly no slouches, either!

    I’m so delighted to read about your joy and warmth with K and the family. Just so delighted. Open adoption, it seems, really rules. 🙂

  14. That is a very impressive spread! And my goodness, I do love lava cake 🙂 It sounds like the party went quite well, and I’m glad that K and her family felt comfortable and welcome.

  15. Would I ever LOVE to eat at your house! I truly hope the openness and love you have now with K continues far into the future – what a wonderful tribute this would be to all of you, especially your precious Baby J.

  16. What a great celebration she is truly blessed.

  17. […] this month, we had a small family gathering to welcome Baby J and K into our lives. My brother and his beautiful family traveled far to celebrate with […]

  18. […] in part to our recent family celebration, my mom has been in decent spirits lately. Yet even with her typical sense of humor (dark) in tact, […]

  19. […] (at 3 weeks, at 50 days, at 100 days, and at 6 months). We welcomed Baby J to our family with a beautiful celebration in August. We’ve continued to reach out to members of her birth family, even when it has been […]

  20. […] Two years to the day of our home study visit, nearly a year to the day of Baby J’s welcome to the family celebration, K and her mom — our daughter’s other grandmother by birth (let’s call her […]

Leave a Reply

 
