no news is no news

Just didn’t want to leave you all hanging with that last post…

Birth of Baby is not yet imminent, i.e., within hours. It still could be a couple of weeks, but as I said it could also be just a few days… K is 38 weeks on Sunday, and her body seems to be getting ready.

We are in touch with K nearly every day and we visit with each other about twice a week. Instead of pushing herself on several mile hikes every other day, she is listening to her body’s need to conserve energy for labor. She is finally seeing the light at the end of the tunnel, so to speak.

I have to say, we are all getting very excited. It is starting to feel very real, and close…

The other day, K had her visit with the social worker in which she was advised about the process for relinquishing her parental rights. In California, nothing is signed until after the baby is born, and in our case, until K is well enough to get around. We made plans for after K’s meeting so we could give her a hug, go for a walk and feed her. I said I imagined that must have been tough, but she said no, not really, that she was ready. She said she gives up her rights and we get ours — that it all works out in the end.

We talked a lot about how this match has far exceeded any of our wildest expectations and hopes — how lucky we are to have found each other, what gratitude we share. It is such a beautiful thing, I can’t even describe it. Some of you know what I’m talking about…

And so for now, we wait. We sleep in while we can, stay up late when we want, go to the movies, take day trips and be spontaneous.

And we wait for The Call. What else can we do?

~ by luna on May 15, 2009.

29 Responses to “no news is no news”

  1. Chills. Every time there are chills. I’m on baby watch.

  2. Oh wow!!! haven’t been to your blog in a while – this is SO VERY EXCITING : ) sending all positive thoughts for an easy birth and transition for the baby to you.

    Mo

  3. Nothing. That’s why it’s so excruciating.

    Exceeding my expectations too, all of you.

  4. Enjoy the moments now – and remember them. The new memories are going to eclipse them something crazy, but these last weeks should be cherished, and I know you will.

  5. When you look back, this time of suspension might look gloriously sweet.

    Even if it doesn’t feel that way now.

    🙂

  6. Luna,
    You leave me biting my fingernails. Please please do post as soon as you can…

  7. This all seems so close now. I can’t imagine the nervous energy you must be feeling right now. I hope the wait goes smoothly. Hugs to you.

  8. So close! Your match does sound amazing. Every time I read an open adoption blog about the wonderful relationships that are made, I am a little jealous that ours did not work out that way. Good luck with everything.

  9. What a wild and surreal time this must be for you and M. So delighted to know things are working out so well!

  10. I still can’t believe it is so close now. I can’t wait for you, but of course, I will.
    xxoo

  11. Waiting with you, Luna, and wishing K the best as she prepares.

  12. I am waiting on pins and needles!! I am so happy this is happening for you and wishing you a safe and healthy delivery!!

  13. Oh, Luna, I am so happy and excited for you. Thank you for sharing with us and allowing us “watch” this all unfold. I am so looking forward to your posts in the coming months!!!

  14. Sounds like you’re doing everything you should. I am so glad you have such a good relationship with K and glad you’re enjoying your last days before becoming parents!

  15. I know you must be going crazy with the wait, but from here it seems exciting and never to be forgotten. I’m so happy to hear things are progressing nicely. Can’t wait for more news!

  16. Thinking of you, M and K as you wait, dearest Luna.

  17. The waiting is always the hardest part. BTU things are looking so good. My wishes for a satisfying labor and delivery. And my wishes for ease of transition after.

  18. ohmigosh, I don’t think I’d sleep at all between now and then. Oh, maybe you should make casseroles or something.

  19. Are you finding yourself engaging in any “nesting” behavior? I liked to rearrange cupboards, fold baby clothes, and other little cleaning activities in the final days before we traveled to meet our Lil Pumpkin.

  20. I am holding my breath!

  21. Thanks so much for updating!

  22. i can’t get over the fact, that by the time i get back from georgia, you just may have that precious baby in your arms!

    yes wait…your time is coming!

  23. Holding out still and thinking of you each day,

    Sending a hug so big I think I can feel you in my arms from here! I hope you feel it too

    love to you gorgeous person

  24. My heart is pounding for you guys. I’m so excited for you and it must be amazing to be right there in this moment.

  25. Happy b-day!!! I’m sorry I missed it!!!

  26. A belated happy birthday, Luna dear!! hope it was delightful…

  27. And happy birthday too

  28. Happy belated birthday!!

  29. i was visiting family in georgia and telling my mother about you and wondering if when i came back baby would already be in your hands. not quite yet i see, but almost there. you make K out to be this fabulous person, and i think she sees that light in you and feels at peace with giving you and your husband this most amazing, most precious gift.
    i can’t express how happy i am for all in this picture. a wonderful turn of fortune indeed.

Leave a Reply

 
