labor of love

Well, we spent the weekend in the tiny room attached to our bedroom, the soon-to-be nursery.

Long time readers may remember I had no intention of making room for a nursery until a baby was in sight. Despite being urged by our adoption counselor, and urged by others not to, the most I could do was begin collecting baby books on a small but growing shelf. This was the one pleasure I allowed myself so early — collecting children’s books.

For a long time, I wavered between embracing the uncertainty and accepting the fear before I could completely let go and flow with this process. Time was relative and distorted, and it seemed we had so very long to wait before K’s due date…

Yet now, with K at 37 weeks and preparing for labor, we are finally preparing a nursery! And the best part is K joined us this weekend to help create this beautiful space for Baby.

M and I really wanted to create something symbolic of our journey and of this child. Because this baby’s story is so intertwined with nature, as is our connection to K, it seemed well, only natural to incorporate a theme around a “tree of life.” If we had been even more ambitious, we might have kept going. But we are not professionals, and this was a labor of love. Behold…

the finished wall

mural wall1

K created the sun…

mural sun corner2

M created the “tree of life” (with lots of input, maybe too much?)

tree2

I painted the wildflowers and butterflies…

mural butterflies and irises2

mural wildflowers2

it was a true collaborative creative effort…

with instant memories for which I am so grateful,

and a wonderful feeling every time we walk in the room...

mural wall2


~ by luna on May 10, 2009.

27 Responses to “labor of love”

  1. It’s gorgeous! I love that you created it together.

  2. Oh wow! That is gorgeous. I love it.

  3. Wow luna. Well done. Not long now. Not long at all – and what a home, what a lot of love. This baby is going to have a good good life.

    love ya lady.

    Stay strong
    B

  4. Oh, I just LOVE this…beautiful!

  5. Oh, my! Your journey together is filled with so much symbolism. This has filled me with so much hope.

  6. Wow, luna, what an incredible project and a beautiful room. This is making me cry, so I can’t even say any more.

  7. I bet that room feels great to be in. Your designs are just beautiful.

  8. How special! It’s amazing that you were able to create this together. Thanks for the pictures, it looks great.

    Mr. Shelby

  9. Literally–chills up and down both arms and legs looking at the wall. It is amazing and gorgeous and that would be dayenu. But the symbolism of the images AND the fact that you made it together? It is enormous–a mural of love.

  10. Oh my goodness how beautiful…so serene. I love it!

  11. It’s just beautiful, Luna, and I’m getting all weepy looking at K’s sun and imagining your little one gazing at it, knowing that K painted it. There is so much wrapped up in that, so much love and so much hope.

  12. For non-professionals, you did quite an amazing job!

    The collaboration and joint act of love is even more remarkable.

    I was imagining the same thing as Annacyclopedia — the baby looking up at the sun, and you telling her how K made it just for him/her.

    I was also imagining the baby enjoying the eye-level flowers once s/he can stand, trying to catch the butterflies.

    And an older version of your child coming upon a gnarly oak tree somewhere many years from now and realizing, “That looks exactly like the tree that my father painted in my nursery before I was born.”

  13. Oh my gosh! You are all so creative! Sadly, our nursery looks like it did before LB was born – empty. We just never got around to it and now find we don’t need it. Maybe a kids room soon.

    I have to admit, as soon as I saw the word “labor” I thought your baby was coming. Ooooo! I can’t wait!

  14. It’s perfect. What a safe, peaceful, love filled room in which this little one will be enveloped. I am so excited, just so excited!

  15. Holy cow!! You are one talented family!!

  16. It looks fantastic and it’s so special that you all did it together!

  17. beautiful, beautiful room. a labor of love indeed.

  18. So cool! I love it and all that it represents.

  19. I love it and the meanings behind it!

  20. Awesome mural!!!! I think you should add chipmunks – they would signify all of us out here cheering you on!

  21. Stunning and lovely. What a lucky baby!

  22. I’m (obviously) catching up on some blog reading… this nursery is BEAUTIFUL!!! You all did an amazing job!

  23. […] Three months ago, we were preparing for the arrival of our new baby via open adoption. One weekend when K was more than eight months pregnant, we all painted the nursery together in a labor of love. […]

  24. […] K told the baby about her decision, and said that soon h/she would meet his/her parents. When the nursery was painted, when the carseat was installed, we told the baby. No need to wait any longer than necessary, Baby, […]

  25. […] We’ve never sent so many cards. That weekend, we all decorated the nursery together in a labor of love. Then I turned 40 just before K hit 40 weeks, so we planned a fun weekend close to home, just in […]

  26. […] We talked about K’s pregnancy and her life, her hopes and dreams for the future. We talked about the baby and felt her move in K’s belly. We discussed names and painted the nursery together. […]

  27. […] us walked through each room and said goodbye. I teared up as we got to her baby room, looked up at her mural, our labor of love, and said “Bye bye tree, bye sun, bye moon, bye flowers, bye butterflies. We’ll miss […]

Leave a Reply

 
