show and tell: forest fern

forestfern

This photo was taken this afternoon as we strolled through a beautiful redwood forest not far from our home. The forest holds a special place in our hearts for so many reasons. I have always found it to an awe-inspiring and powerful place — sacred, majestic, healing. This particular forest is just a few miles from where we were married.

Redwood forests are a particular source of magical life and wonder. K is especially drawn to them. Our story is intertwined with tales of the forest. We have bonded over our mutual love and respect for nature’s beauty and bounty. 

Today’s walk with K through the woods was a spectacular way to end a weekend enjoyed together. When her plans to getaway one last time before the baby arrives fell through, we invited K to come stay at Chateau Luna et M. We wanted to show her a good time and made sure she was well cared for, well fed, well loved. After an especially tough couple of weeks, I think it was just what she we all needed.

As we walked, we talked about the woods, admired the wild irises, and listened to the soothing sounds of the meandering creek, singing birds, and the breeze flowing through tall trees above.

For the first time in a long while, we took some pictures together including a fantastic one of the three of us sitting on an overlook above the creek, and one of K holding her belly, looking serene and lovely. 

And we counted the days until Baby is due to join us in person (just five weeks to go)… 

And I felt peace and gratitude.

It was absolutely gorgeous. 

For more circle time fun, check out the weekly thread, or see my previous entries. 

~ by luna on April 26, 2009.

20 Responses to “show and tell: forest fern”

  1. Beautiful. It sounds like it was very refreshing. 5 weeks, wow. Thinking good thoughts.

  2. This one moved me to tears. I think the nursery should definitely have on its wall a framed fern frond chosen by K from those very woods.

    5 weeks to go – amazing.

  3. Aside from the usual, I’m quite impressed that K is able to go hiking only a few weeks before giving birth.

    I hope the baby can appreciate those same woods someday — perhaps a walk together with all three of you.

  4. It’s such a beautiful vision, both the image on this post, and the one I see in my mind as I read your words.

  5. Sounds like a wonderful afternoon, and a lovely memory. 🙂

  6. Sounds amazing and looks lovely.

  7. Gorgeous photo. Only five more weeks?? Yikes!! I am keeping everything crossed for all of you!

  8. I have goosebumps on my arms from this story.

  9. That is beautiful. I’m glad you had such a nice and relaxing time together! Communing with nature can be so healing.

  10. The air in redwood forests is unlike anything I’ve breathed anywhere else on the planet. You drink it, you eat it, you don’t just inhale it…

    Your feeling of peace and happiness is wonderful to read about. May it continue over the next few weeks.

  11. Five weeks! That just 35 days away! I am so excited for you and of course, continue to be amazed at your grace through this process.

  12. Can’t believe it’s just 5 more weeks! So excited for you.

    I love the smell of redwood forests – I agree with Shinejil, you almost wear it, not smell it.

  13. Wow.

    And gulp.

  14. 5 more weeks – eeks! I bet you have butterflies in your tummy all the time!

  15. What a beauty. And I can’t believe it’s only 5 weeks away. WOW. Holding good thoughts for all of you, always.

  16. Luna,

    I’ve been away awhile, but I’ve been thinking of you. I’m so pleased with how this all has turned out–you deserve this joy more than you know. 5 weeks and counting!

    Stay strong,

    Babychaser

  17. How beautiful! I’ve been to redwood forests a couple of times in my life — once on Vancouver island, and another time in Yosemite. There was still snow on the ground in the grove in Yosemite, but I was amazed how when I touched the trees, their bark was so soft and warm.

    Only 5 more weeks until this incredible little person enters the world. You must be beyond excited to meet him or her.

  18. Sounds like a truly fantastic day.

  19. Great story Luna

    I hope you are taking photos of all this. It will be great for you little tyke to know these stories some day.

  20. […] As I’ve written here, we spent six months getting to know K before she placed Baby J with us. During that time, we often saw each other once or twice a week. We attended regular midwife appointments, shared many meals, spent weekends together and enjoyed hiking in the woods. […]

Leave a Reply

 
