conscientious objection to politicizing women’s rights

When I last wrote about this issue, I was furious about one of W’s last power grabs before the White House door knocked his ass on the way out. I’m talking about his sneaky attempt to unnecessarily broaden the so-called “rule of conscience,” which I believe would result in greater restrictions for women seeking competent unbiased medical care and yes, reproductive freedom.  

Needless to say, there were some interesting comments on the issue.  

I wondered whether Obama would have the political charge to take on this rule when he came into office, given other pressing priorities. A few weeks before he took the oath, I was pleased to hear that he already had a team of people looking into the challenging the rules. Different lawsuits filed by several states and non-governmental organizations are also challenging the rules. 

Unfortunately, the media are referring to this as the “abortion rule.” The religious right refer to it as the “rule of conscience.” I think of it more as another attempt by a bunch of rich old white guys to control women’s bodies, curtail individual rights, and restrict access to quality medical care. This could have drastic consequences, especially for poor women who don’t have access to alternative health care providers.

Today it was reported that Obama is seeking to rescind W’s rule. His administration could file a proposal as early as next week, which would prompt a 30 day comment period before the action could be finalized (look for the notice). A statement quoted Obama’s belief that “this issue requires a balance between the rights of providers and the health of women and their families,” which W had no problem ignoring. Women’s health has been a political football for far too long. This has got to stop. 

(Please, no comments about the rights of the unborn. I know far too well and have wished far too hard for many babies never born. And as a prospective adoptive parent who is immensely grateful for, and in awe of, the women who choose to bring children into the world that they are unable to parent, I will still always believe with my heart that this should be their CHOICE alone.)

~ by luna on February 27, 2009.

8 Responses to “conscientious objection to politicizing women’s rights”

  1. Ditto that last paragraph. I hope it gets turned around.

  2. […] Fish Oils placed an observative post today on conscientious objection to politicizing womenâ […]

  3. Actually, I don’t have an enormous problem with “Rule of Conscience” because it shows just how radically out of control this rule could (have) gone: could doctors deny treatment to alcoholics? people who do drugs? (even if one is your child, who did something accidentally or got handed something bad at a party?) Individuals under arrest for a variety of crimes? Could a professional deny someone care because they have “conscientious” issues with gays? Lesbians? people of different religious backgrounds? People of different ethnicities?

    I saw this as a slippery slope if there ever was one. That needs stopped, pronto. If you’re in medicine, you’re there to treat people, not love them. And if you can’t get beyond that, maybe you need to look for another line of work.

    In sum: ITA, I hope Obama *hears* the multitude of arguments against this line of thinking and puts a halt to it.

  4. Is Obama seriously super-human? This guy moves fast on everything! I hope this is turned around and we continue moving in the right direction where individual choice is paramount. It’s funny that a party/administration who is so steadfast in maintaining their ideology of limiting governmental involvement in most matters alternately believes so strongly in prying into something so deeply private and personal. It has never added up for me.

  5. Hell yeah!
    Also, as usual, Tash showed up early and made a great point– calling it a rule of conscience would underscore severe luck thereof, if framed and exposed properly.

    Finally, I am sure you’ve seen this before, but in case you haven’t, enjoy: http://www.thedailyshow.com/video/index.jhtml?videoId=189749&title=John-McCain%27s-Air-Quotes

  6. You have a new award on my blog, Luna!

  7. I’m with Tash–this slope is so slippery that I truly can’t believe anyone took the first step on it without seeing how deeply one can fall off.

  8. I agree absolutely.

    I used to be pro-life until infertility then I realized how slippery that slope is.

    I want to add that even though I was pro life, I didn’t think abortion should be illegal, just frowned upon more sternly.

Leave a Reply

 
