show and tell: seasonal waterfall

Behind our house is a seasonal creek that meanders for miles until it reaches the Pacific Ocean. In summer the creek runs low, at barely a trickle. By the first substantial rainfall, we can start to hear the flow of the creek out back, and watch it slowly rise to healthy levels. (Unfortunately the wild salmon that should now be swimming upstream to spawn and die are reported to be at their lowest numbers in years…)

While we don’t get winter snowstorms here near the coast, we do get rainstorms that last for days and often result in severe flooding. Although nearby towns have flooded on several occasions, we’ve been lucky to be out of harm’s way. Though we’ve been on flood watch before — where I’ve wondered what I’d grab if we had to evacuate, and actually started gathering family heirlooms — our home is not in the general high danger zone. Still, there are moments when we watch the creek rise and wonder how long it might be before we should be concerned…

Most other moments this time of year, on a day like today after a night of storms and nonstop rain, we just love to listen to the rain fall on the roof from the warmth and safety of our dry cozy home. The waterfall created by the rainflow makes the most amazing sound at night as we fall asleep. 

Here you can see (part of) the waterfall beyond our fence, as it has progressed over the past few weeks. The last one was taken this morning. 

falls1

falls2

falls3

Join in more Circle Time fun by checking out this week’s entries, or see my previous entries.

~ by luna on February 22, 2009.

22 Responses to “show and tell: seasonal waterfall”

  1. Your back yard is FREAKING AWESOME!!!

  2. Wow, that is quite a change!

  3. Wow, that is quite a change! Hopefully the water will not get too close.

  4. I love waterfalls. It must be wonderful to listen to it as you fall asleep.

  5. Aside from the danger of flooding, it sounds and looks amazing.

  6. That is so pretty. I wish I lived that close to a stream.

  7. Great waterfall! Sounds like you had a wonderful relaxing Sunday. Thank you for sharing your backyard. It’s so beautiful.

  8. I can’t say exactly why, but this post, and imagining you living next to this interesting geographic feature makes me feel good. Like you’re quite in tune with nature and her rhythms.

  9. Well now I just really want to visit you at your house. So pretty. 🙂

  10. Very pretty. I bet the sound is fantastic.

  11. Ah! I could almost hear and smell the stream from you photos! What a nice change from the snow and ice outside my window…

  12. Gorgeous! How I would love to live with scenery like that running past my back door!

  13. Wow, just beautiful! I need to see something like this – so serene and peaceful!

  14. Oh god. I miss the mountains. Especially in the spring. (I grew up in the mountain west.) Sigh. Beautiful.

  15. That’s beautiful luna. You must live in a great possi – you and Lori. So, I’ll be sure to visit when I next buy a round-the-world ticket. And hopefully I’ll see the waterfall too.

  16. It must be amazing to have this in your backyard. Wow!

  17. That is beautiful! Thanks for sharing the pictures. It makes me hopeful that Spring is just around the corner.

  18. That is so cool! I can’t believe that is seasonal. Are you in Western Washington?

  19. Gorgeous! I must get up there … hint, hint 😉

  20. […] We’re most likely going to have to move from our little spot of paradise. Here in the Bay Area housing is still at a premium (even though it has dropped a little) and […]

  21. […] we could not really afford to either stay or go. We love where we live now — wonderful home, close to nature, great community, good neighbors, excellent schools, an edible garden, wild berries out […]

  22. […] of me will be sad to leave this place. I love loving so close to nature, on a creek with a seasonal waterfall, minutes from redwoods, wild life in our backyard, wild berries everywhere, with fabulous neighbors […]

Leave a Reply

 
