speechless

She chose us.  

We might actually become parents. Thanks to a wonderful young woman who is not yet ready to be a mother herself, we might become parents to a baby due in early June. 

So much to say, but right now I cannot find the words, or maybe I cannot bring myself to say them here. 

It is still so very early. There are still questions to be answered, details to be considered. 

We are fully aware that anything can happen between now and then. 

But right now we are basking in the possibility that in 22-23 weeks, we might (finally) bring home the baby we are meant to parent. 

Amazing. 

~ by luna on December 27, 2008.

65 Responses to “speechless”

  1. YAY! What good news! You will continue to be in my thoughts, hoping everything goes smoothly!

  2. Wonderful news!

  3. My best wishes that this works out for you!

  4. Holy fuck! Ya-freakin-hoo!

  5. OMG. OMG. OMG. OMG.

    OH. MY. GOD!!!! Luna! That’s. Amazing! I’m thrilled for you. Truly. XO.

  6. OMG! Jumping up and down. I read the first two sentences, and then I had to go help the shorty of this house. I went over with a huge smile on my face. And I told him. And then I told JD who came downstairs just then. And I am considering climbing to the roof to shout from the, you know, rooftop. But something tells me it’s not a great idea in my current (lack of) physical condition.
    Just so so so so happy for you.
    Yes, anything can happen still, but right now the new year holds the promise of such wonder and such joy. May it come to pass.

  7. And now I am crying. See what you’ve done? 🙂
    Damn, I am just so happy for you.

  8. Congratulations! That is incredible!

  9. Ahhhh, what great heart-warming news, Luna. SO excited for you! She DEFINITELY made a wonderful choice.

  10. Oh wow. Wow. What an amazingly perfect way to close up a crappy year! I so very, very, very much hope that this is it.

  11. So, so, so very happy for you! My heart is just full of excitement. Yay!

  12. Oh Luna! Happy New Year!!!!

  13. Excellent news! Just an incredible way to begin the new year!!

  14. AHHHHHHHHH!!!!!! How about that for a holiday miracle. Not really a miracle though because you absolutely deserve it. I am so happy for you.

  15. Wow. Speechless myself.

  16. Wow, congratulations! So much to hope for in this coming year!

  17. WOW!! Hoping hoping hoping that it all works out. That is just amazing! Wonderful!

  18. Long-time lurker here who you probably don’t recognize, but Congratulations! We’re still debating the merits of adoption versus childfree ourselves, but hearing news like this is a very reassuring nudge to not let fear make our choice for us. We’ll be thinking of you and this expectant mom in the coming months…

  19. Oh Luna. Speechless. In tears and speechless.

  20. Squeal.

    Oh, what a magnificent Christmas present!

  21. I emailed you. I’m crying and flying with joy for you. It’s wonderfully overwhelming.

  22. Wow. What a brilliant way to start the New Year.

  23. How simply wonderful, marvelous and amazing. What a wonderful Christmas gift. With every fiber of my being, I hope that in 22-23 weeks, you do have that wonderful infant in your arms. It is your time.

  24. Wow! After so many years of waiting, it is fantastic that your wait was so short on this leg of the journey. She is confirming what many of us have believed all along — that you will be great parents.

    I really hope that everything works out.

    Hooray!

  25. I AM SO FREAKING HAPPY FOR YOU!!!! HOLY COW!

  26. woohoo!

  27. Like I said on twitter – phenomenal. But I mean, who WOULDN’T choose you if given the option?

  28. OMG!! Wow!! How exciting. I hope the next several months go very smoothly.

  29. I gasped so loudly when I read your news last night, my husband woke up and said “What, What?!”

    I know what you mean about it not seeming real, and there still being a lot of things to work out between now and then, and many things that are still not sure things. It’s a scary and wonderous and hopeful and so many more things kind of time.

    I remember I took Lil Pumpkin’s referral photos and had them made into photo cards that said “Meet Our New Baby Girl” in order to announce the news to our immediate family (figuring the grandparents needed something to flash and brag about). It was a huge leap of faith for me to do that . . . I was letting my heart hope again, much like announcing a pregnancy. I could tell myself many times that something could still go wrong, but I was taking such a risk by making those photo cards, by sharing our news. The same emotions happened when I had a baby shower thrown for me . . . I worried each step of the way I was somehow going to jinx things by taking these steps, by letting hope in.

    Today I have officially been united with my Lil Pumpkin for 5 months.

    It does happen. It will happen for you and DH. You will be matched with The Right Baby. You will be chosen, by just the right brave and selfless young woman and her family.

    A quote I have long carried in my mind, and was placed prominently on our adoption travel blog (to China) reads “Faith makes things possible, not easy.”

    I am here for you, each step. I think 2009 is your year. Happy Bright & Shiny New Year.

    HUGE, GIANT, SQUEEZING YOU WAY TOO TIGHT HUGS!

  30. Oh my goodness, how exciting! I am very happy for you and hope that the next few months pass quickly. ::big hugs::

  31. just crying tears of joy for you, Luna. congrats!

  32. Oh! I hope it works out, that would be so wonderful!

  33. Wonderful news 🙂

  34. […] right place at the right time. Like the stars are somehow aligning for us. We both feel like this match we’ve made may be the most perfect match we could have ever imagined. Yes, there are issues, […]

  35. I hope this ends up being the best beginning for you, firstmom, and Little One To Be…Congrats on being chosen!

  36. Luna, I am so happy for you. You guys deserve this and I can’t believe how quickly it is all happening. Your blog and your journey give me hope and inspiration. Of course she chose you – you are amazing and wonderful and sweet and kind. I am sure she saw all of that and knew that you would be the perfect parents for that little baby. Congratulations to you and M!!

  37. De-lurking for the first time to say your post brought me to tears of hope for you and M. I hope this goes as smoothly as possible for you!

  38. I’m here via Lori’s Perfect Moments & I must say, you have the perfect moment hands down! Congratulations & many, many well wishes from a small farm in the mid-west.

  39. Oh Luna … I’m SO HAPPY for you!! What a wonderful way to enter into the new year!!!

  40. Tears in my eyes as I read this. I am so happy for you & M!

  41. “She chose us.”
    Wow, I just completely got chills from just 3 words. I can’t tell you how happy I was to see this. After knowing you only through your blog (which, I’m convinced, provides about as much insight if not more than actually knowing someone is person), I just felt in my heart that she would choose you. She’d be nuts not to. I am so, so excited for you and even though we’ve all been conditioned to step cautiously, it’s so amazing to see that hope has returned. Congratulations!

  42. I write this with tears of joy running down my face. This is such wonderful, wonderful news, Luna. This young woman has confirmed what those of us who have had the privilege of following your story through your blog have long believed – that you and M will make amazing parents.

    I am so very happy for you, and hope with all my heart that things go smoothly over the next few months.

  43. NO!
    AHHHHHH!!!!!
    NO F-ING WAY!
    LUNA, LUNA, LUNA, I AM SO HAPPY FOR YOU HUN.
    HOW IS IT THAT YOU BROUGHT A LITTLE HOPE TO MY VERY BLACK AND BITTER HEART?!
    MY GOD, I AM JUST TEARING UP!
    YES BABY!!!!

  44. ahhh!!!!!
    (just so f-ing happy for ya)

  45. OMG Luna!!!!!!!!!!!!! I somehow missed this post and was reading your New Year’s post and when I got to the last sentence I actually shouted out loud. Now I’m sitting here with tears streaming down my face. I’m so very very happy for you and M. You deserve this joy more than most anyone I know. I’ll be holding your birthmother in my heart and wishing her strength and wisdom. YAY!!!!!

  46. I am so happy and hopeful for you!

  47. That will teach me to be away from the computer!

    Woohoo! I’m speechless by association!

  48. Welcome to Schrodinger’s Box. You’re doing a great job embracing both possibilities.

    Hope that sounds loving and not harsh. Truly, I am impressed with your approach.

    🙂

  49. I am so very happy for you and your perfect moment. Remember this moment as it will define the years to come. Much Aloha to you and yours, whatever the outcome.

  50. Oh, Luna! I just heard – I saw your comment on Lori’s blog. Happy, happy day! VERY happy for all of you.

  51. I’m a little late in my congratulations! How exciting. I only wish it weren’t so far away. Yet another wait! I hope it flies by and that all involved have a good experience!

  52. I’m just catching up from being away over Christmas. What great news!! I am so oxcited for you! I hope the time flies by for you!

  53. This is wonderful. I had a good feeling!! What a wonderful way to start your new year. I am so so so happy for you, Luna.

  54. Very happy news to end the year on. Congratulations–sending much love and peace of heart to everyone in the equation.

  55. SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!

    That’s SO Exciting! Will definitely be keeping you all in my thoughts and prayers as this leg of your journey (hopefully) draws to a close in 2009!

    WAHOO!!!!!!!!!

    What a way to ring in the new year!

  56. Wow Luna.

    You guys will make such terrific parents. I really hope and pray for all three of you, and of course the little tucker. What an amazing story!

  57. Wow, this is wonderful news! Congratulations!!!!

  58. A quiet “wow” and a sense of joy at this possibility. You will be in my thoughts and prayers, along with the young woman and the baby.

  59. […] been well aware that nothing is certain, that anything can happen. I’ve been saying it ever since. And it’s true. While that is a scary thought — there are no guarantees in life, after […]

  60. […] better and becoming even more comfortable. We feel so grateful not only for having this wonderful match, but also for this invaluable time we spend together. Part of our process is building a […]

  61. […] some more intensive correspondence, we were overjoyed and speechless when K asked us to parent her baby. She was about 18 weeks pregnant, with more than 5 months still […]

  62. […] On the winter solstice, we sat in a cafe meeting K for the first time. The year ended with a spark of hope: not a promise, but a possibility — and that was more than we’d had in a very long time. […]

  63. […] In many ways we were reclaiming our lives. And a young woman we had met not long before had just asked us to become the parents of her not yet born child. After so many roadblocks and detours in our […]

  64. […] Two years ago yesterday, December 2008, a young woman who had become unexpectedly pregnant asked us the question that forever changed our lives. Until I heard our daughter’s voice, I had never heard more beautiful words than these: I would be honored if you would become the parents of my baby. […]

  65. […] When Kaye asked us to become the parents of her baby, just a week later, we were humbled and stunned. […]

Leave a Reply

 
