a year and 201 posts

I didn’t plan it this way, but it just so happens that today is my blogoversary and yesterday was my 200th post. What’s funny is there’s absolutely no rhyme or reason to how often I post (sometimes it’s once a week, sometimes 3-4 times). Yet I hit 101 at six months, just after offering up number 100 to M for his debut (and sole) post, and here we are six months later with another 100 posts.

A year ago my life looked very different. In many ways it still feels the same. But it’s not. Quite a year it has been. I’m still processing it all. I imagine I’ll have a hell of a whopper RIP 2008 post coming up soon…

For now, I’ll just say thank you. My deepest gratitude to every one of you who has shared this journey with me over this past year. I honestly don’t know where I’d be without you all. Seriously, I’d be curled up in a ball somewhere babbling in tongues. But here I am. And here you are. I am so fortunate to have found you and to be a part of this outstanding community. I am so grateful for the understanding, for the connection, the solidarity.

Because on some level, most of you, you get me. Even though we may have made different choices and taken different paths. Even if you don’t agree with me. Even if we have different backgrounds and beliefs. Even though most of us have never met (though I’m so grateful some of us have — you know who you are!). Even though we live in different corners of the world, miles and continents apart. Even though we merely “talk” through this amazing box of light — this thing that connects us in such meaningful and powerful ways — I feel a bond and kinship with those who have passed through these pages that is stronger than any I could have imagined a year ago.

It’s knowing that someone understands how I feel. It’s feeling that sharing my story as it unfolds, with my hopes and fears, somehow relieves part of the burden of living it. It’s being supported when I could not stand myself. It’s knowing that someone I’ve never met is cheering us on. It’s realizing that you’ve got my back. It’s meeting you in person and having the sense that I’ve “known” you for so long. It’s affirmation and connection in a very alienating and isolated world. No doubt about it — it’s instant therapy.

It’s why I read your stories too. To witness. To affirm. To share, think and learn. To support and grow.

Yes, it has been quite a year. My most significant shift may be best reflected in how WordPress marks my “busiest day.” I’ve never had a huge readership, but thanks to Queen Mel, we may all get some additional traffic when we need it. The day I had the most “hits” was the day I sunk into a great depression and announced my failed FET in March. I was so happy to learn that day had been surpassed in popularity by the auspicious day of our home study visit for our adoption in August.  And after inviting readers to say hello and introduce themselves, I was thrilled to receive the most comments I’ve ever had for last month’s “coming out party.” That was freaking awesome! I should do that more often (and so should you, dear readers). And this? I fucking love that.

I am so grateful for this space, and to M for encouraging me to begin writing in the first place. I’ve said it all before, and I still mean it.

Ironically, words alone cannot convey the incredibly positive impact this space has had on my life this past year. Writing is just a part of it. Your witness to this journey, your affirming presence and support have been powerfully therapeutic. Transformative, even.

It all began with a tiny shout out to the world. I wondered if anyone would even hear it. I questioned whether someone would respond. I doubted that anyone would return. It didn’t matter, I thought. But now I know better.

Now, nearly 45,000 hits and over 2700 comments later, it’s hard to believe it’s only been a year in the life….

~ by luna on December 11, 2008.

29 Responses to “a year and 201 posts”

  1. I feel like I’ve known you forever . . . isn’t it funny?

  2. Happy blogoversary and happy 200th!

    It is a joy to read your writing, even if the content is not always joyful for you to write about. If you start blogging about breakfast cereal, or cloud formations (starting with the header), let me know and I’ll read that blog too.

  3. Happy blogoversary dear friend! It’s amazing what teh interwebz can do to bring complete strangers into our lives in a way we can’t imagine without them.

    *hug*

  4. Sing it, sister! I continue to be amazed and grateful for the warm support and understanding that comes from the women who participate in this online community. Like you I’d be babbling in tongues or in a straight jacket somewhere if I hadn’t found this outlet.

    Your words have been an inspiration. Your passion, your expression and your voice are so important to me and others. Here’s to you, Luna!

  5. Happy blogoversary.

    thank you for your wise and kind and funny and so terribly real words. It has been a pleasure to shre this journey with you.

  6. Congratulations, sweetie! It’s a major accomplishment.

  7. Best wishes for the happiest of blogoversaries! And congrats on your winning haiku — it’s always a pleasure to read your words, no matter how many or few.

  8. happy blogoversary and congrats on 200 posts.
    Isn’t this place great?

  9. Happy, happy Blogaversary day! So, so glad I found your blog and have been a loyal fan every since=) May this next year of blogging bring many exciting things!

  10. Loving on you big today, your special blogoversary and milestone day.

    Mwaaaaaah!

  11. Congratulation! I;ts on;y been a year? Wow. Time flies. I don’t think I have read you for that long but it just seems like longer to me. May the next year of blogging bring you wonderful things to blog about and many, many comments!

  12. Think about how far we’ve come in the last year, and how much has happened. (I’m almost at my one-year mark, too, though I’m closer to 100 posts than 200!) Can you do something for me? Just take a moment, close your eyes, sit back, and be really proud of yourself. Because I think you’re amazing.

  13. Happy blogoversary to one of my favourite bloggers! Thank YOU for a year of wonderful, thoughtful posts.

  14. Happy blogoversary, you prolific thing! It’s been quite a year for you…I’ve been following your journey since the beginning and will continue to. Here’s to another 201 posts.

  15. I feel the same way. Happy blogaversary to you! Thank you for sharing your life stories, and also for supporting us as we navigate ours.

  16. Luna,

    It is my pleasure and priviledge to follow along, you write so beautiufully. Thanks for ‘getting’ me also.

    I look forward to more posts.

  17. Happy blogaversary.

  18. Has it really only been a year?!? Over that time, you’ve become such an important source of inspiration and support to me.

    Thank you for your beautiful and moving posts, and for all your words of kindness to me and to others within our little community.

    Happy blogoversary, dearest Luna!

  19. Thanks for your wonderful writing and your witness. It has been such a boon to me to know that a woman of such soul was grappling with some of the same sadness as me, somewhere out there…

    Here’s to another year, and to your future happiness.

  20. Happy blogoversay! Why don’t you live next door to me? I just loved the phrase: “It’s why I read your stories too. To witness. To affirm. To share, think and learn. To support and grow.” That’s so true. I feel the same way. Thank you, I bow to your Buddha nature and feel grateful that you are here….

  21. Blogging is better than therapy. Without question.

    Has it really only been a year?! Wow! I feel like I’ve *known* you much longer than that … in a good way 😉 We are planning a nice farewell party for 2008 in the IG household. What a %@(# year it’s been!

    Happy Blogoversary, dear Luna! Thank you for writing, reading, being YOU!

  22. Happy blogoversary/200th! You continually get readers because you are such an eloquent voice for IF and now adoption. Your thoughts and feelings mirror many of ours, except you are able to express them with such depth. Thanks for giving us 200 posts. I look forward to 200 more!

  23. Happy blogoversary. I know I am always amazed at blogland and how much I have gained by being a part of it. I hope that the next year is great for you.

  24. […] Thank you all for your kind words on my blogoversary! It turned out to be quite a momentous week for several reasons. No, we are not matched yet. But […]

  25. Happy Blogoversary to you, Luna. Sorry this comes a little late. XO.

  26. […] things for which I am grateful that got me through this year. One was M, pure and simple. Two was this blog, this space. Three was work, having a meaningful outlet for my energy that was unrelated to my […]

  27. […] day. She was nearly 16 weeks pregnant and making an adoption plan for her baby. That day was my blogoversary and also my dad’s birthday (which held special significance for me and M). We […]

  28. […] Two years ago, on this same day, was the first time we heard from Kaye. She was 16 weeks pregnant. After a week of email exchanges, we agreed to meet on the winter solstice. A week later, she asked the question that would forever change our lives. […]

  29. […] six months I wrote 101 posts (including an all-time favorite from five years ago this week). By one year I had another 100 posts (201 total). Coincidentally, my first blogoversary was also the first day […]

Leave a Reply

 
