south by southwest: show and tell

Ah, vacation! I wish we could have gone for longer, but six days was all we could squeeze in this trip. We spent time in New Mexico and Colorado, enjoying summer at high altitude, exploring traditional indian pueblos, hiking through red rock canyons, overlooking scenic mesas. We ate delicious food, drank awesome microbrews, admired magnificent skies, local crafts, ancient petroglyphs and even dinosaur tracks. We saw an amazing concert at The Best Outdoor Venue Ever. We played with my new twin step-nephews (the result of a last ditch IVF attempt and years of infertility). And to top it off, we enjoyed our last two hours at lunch with the one and only fantabulous Lori (who could use a little bloggy love right now), and we made two new friends in her beautiful children. 

Pretty cool week if you ask me…

a taste of the southwest, compliments of mom…

 ladder to the sky (kiva), aka my best georgia o’keefe impression

mesa overlook (check out those clouds!)

see the writing on the wall, aka petroglyph on black mesa

dinosaur tracks in 100+ million year old rock.  cool!

warning!

rocky mountain high: dusk view from our inn in the foothills

fresh colorado mountain stream

this is red rocks, this is the edge!

after the rain…

do you know this place?

westward ho…

for more circle time fun, check out the show and tell weekly thread, or my previous entries. 

~ by luna on September 6, 2008.

22 Responses to “south by southwest: show and tell”

  1. So gorgeous. What is the license plate place?

  2. Here for Show & Tell, and your photos are beautiful!

  3. Gorgeous pics. Those peppers look so yummy and the red rock pic is incredible!

  4. Beautiful pics. It looks like you had a good time.

  5. Oh Wow. Sounds and looks incredible. Thanks for sharing. (yummy looking peppers!)

  6. That Colorado mountain stream is definitely wall-worthy. Those peppers make me hungry…

  7. Grrr, I am soooo jealous right now!!! I adore the southwest!

    Speaking of outdoor venues, thee best thing I ever heard was at Villa Montalvo in Saratoga (South Bay), when we saw Bruce Horsnby perform. It was a perfect night of weather, too. Ahhhh, I am strangely nostalgic for CA!!! (your photos often do that to me!)

  8. Love the photos! It sounds like a great holiday. You really deserve it, it sounds like you are in a good place and I hope this holiday gives you strength and energy over the next few months.

  9. I *heart* the Southwest. Your pictures are absolutely gorgeous. Red rock is especially beautiful. And as for your taste of the Southwest, I must say…’YUM’. And, ‘YES PLEASE’.

  10. What a great getaway! Beautiful photographs, it looks and sounds wonderful. Glad you enjoyed yourself!

  11. What beautiful pictures. Looks like it was a great trip.

  12. So glad you got to visit our beautiful state. In all the years I have lived here, I’ve never been to Red Rocks.

  13. Beautiful pictures. I like the one of the clouds with the sun setting. Here for show and tell.

  14. Those are some amazing photos!

  15. Luna–I have been reading back on what I have missed–and I have so missed reading your blog–your writing is so beautiful. Im sad that I missed meeting you at the BlogHer this summer–maybe next year? I have so appreciated ALL your loving support and words of encouragement, and I hope to offer it right back. Sounds like some exciting things are on the horizon! Lots of xoxo!

  16. I absolutely love New Mexico. I’ve been to that pueblo with the ladders to the sky. Really amazing. And I loooooooooove New Mexicon Food.

  17. Wow, amazing pictures! I’m glad you guys had a fantastic vacation. 🙂

  18. I *have* to remember that pepper as serving dish thing. Brilliant. All lovely pix. Curious minds want to know: what was the concert?

  19. these are really great photos. i loved the license plates and the paw prints. so glad you had a great time, i just booked a trip for 6 days too. so woohoo!

  20. […] Sometimes that plan meant weekends away — Seattle, Big Sur, Vegas, Disney (though without M), the Southwest. Sometimes a quick getaway is just what the doctor […]

  21. […] father of her soon-to-be baby. In late summer, around when we finished our draft letter (before a much-needed vacation), K conceived in a magical place that would later connect us. K realized she was pregnant at about […]

  22. […] We had just completed the first draft of our adoption profile before heading out on a much needed vacation to the Southwest. We were grateful to have finally sent our draft materials off for review, as this had weighed […]

Leave a Reply

 
