and that’s a bad thing?

I’ve really been trying to avoid a political discussion here, but I just can’t help myself. The political “discourse” this week has been so disturbing to me.

I’m not going to go on about every issue that’s pissing me off though. I’ll just be sure to VOTE in two months. 

But I have to say, this whole business about the GOP nominee for VP and Rudy-911 belittling the community service that Obama dedicated himself to as a young college graduate is infuriating. (If you haven’t seen the video footage, begin watching at 7:20 through the end.) 

It’s not just that they have nothing to say about what their party would actually do to improve the lives of everyday Americans. It’s that they would attack someone who would selflessly choose to use his skills, passion and idealism to help improve the lives of those who are less fortunate or able. They belittle the significant hard work of so many people actually trying to make a positive difference, all while ignoring their own contribution to the underlying conditions needing improvement in the first place. 

Community organizers work tirelessly to educate and empower residents and workers to make decisions and take actions that can improve their lives. Community service is a cornerstone of a healthy society, particularly one which has yet to achieve economic and social justice, access to quality health care, and a clean environment in which breathing the air, drinking from water bottles, and playing with children’s toys aren’t hazardous activities.

Community service is noble work and highly underpaid. Some say it’s “god’s work.” Which is yet another reason why I can’t understand how these people could shamelessly demean those who would sacrifice their own fortune to help improve the lives of others. Community service is not a partisan issue. 

Maybe it’s now considered un-american when someone shuns the traditional capitalist way to help ensure opportunities for those less fortunate. Maybe it’s now un-american to demand protection of our rights and equal justice and health care for all. Maybe we don’t really want to help people help themselves at all. I don’t know, but Jon Stew.art is right, it’s like a big “fuck you” to everyone working to make a difference, whatever the cause. 

I seriously hope I don’t offend any readers here. Believe me, it’s nothing personal. So much for not being political. Our regular programming will resume shortly. 

~ by luna on September 5, 2008.

16 Responses to “and that’s a bad thing?”

  1. Bravo! No offending me here, but I’m also with you on all of it…

  2. No offense taken… and I agree with you 100%

  3. TOTALLY agree with you.

    Going to be joining the campaign. Can’t believe it, but true. I am that scared if they get into the white house.

  4. Great post.

    Election campaigns really do bring out the most repulsive behavior in people, don’t they?

  5. Isn’t it sad? I wish we could have some fun policy debates, instead of these pathetic, negative rants about various people’s “character.”

  6. Did you see Jon Stewart? After running the mocking footage, he called it “A Thousand Points of Bullshit.” Damn straight.

    I’ve toyed with writing about a dozen posts on all this, from those of us who are either really or hypothetically later-term abortion poster-children, or using children as props/shields, or any other numerous issues. But.

    I sip my wine, wonder about my personal failure to hope, and wonder if any independent in a swing state is a fraction as turned off as I am.

  7. I’m right there with you. The fact that Obama had HUGE earning potential and instead gave his time to his community is truly the American way. JFK told us to ask what we can do for our country and I’m fairly certain he had this in mind. I personally think that much of the Republican stance is independence-doing for yourself, so that any help from outside is looked down upon. This breeds such isolationsim in this country. What we are missing most is community and that’s the exact thing they are trying to push out. Family values my ass…

    (it should be clear by now which side of the fence I stand on!)

  8. Listening to Rudy 9-11 Guiliani only will increase my blood pressure. He seems so sleazy. My first impression was so different years ago.

    On a personal note, Palin’s stance on a woman’s reproductive rights scares me. To be honest, if NT testing had revealed abnormalities for me I’m not sure I would have the guts to continue with my pregnancy. Ditto for a very nervous friend who went for an amnio to test for a severe mental retardation gene in her husband’s family.

    The fact that she believes there should be no choice offered to women at all really overwhelms me. Even with all my IF struggles.

  9. Right on, sister!

    I’m also peeved at how that party tries to portray their opponent as elitist when their candidate doesn’t know how many houses he owns and his wife wears 300k worth of clothes and jewelry to the first night of the convention.

    I remember the 9-10 Guilani and he was nothing to write home about.

  10. Right there with you, sister — I’ve been pretty disturbed this past week. The Republicans do this every election because it works for them to turn the truth on its head and say the sky is the ground. They trot out these tired, inaccurate tropes about how all those East and West Coast liberals think we are so much better than the “real” people of America, and ride that resentment into office. That people continue to fall for this is incredibly depressing.

  11. I am so with you, Luna. I read one news story where a Republican spokesperson was basically trying to imply that “community organizer” = drug dealer. How low can you go? I’m Canadian, so I don’t have a vote, but American politics has a huge impact on my country, so I’m watching with interest. And more than a little trepidation.

    P.S. Re: Giuliani: I thought it was hilarious that he was talking down the “cosmopolitan” elites. Remind me again which small town it is that he’s from??

  12. I have no problem with Obama and his supporters touting his days spent working in communities and trying to help others. That’s great! I do have a problem with the Democrats belittling Gov. Palin’s days as a Mayor of a town with a budget of $30 million and managing 120 employees. Further, it is infuriating to see many Democratic pundits put down her accomplishments, and question her ability to be both VP and mother to 5 children – hmmm, why is this question never posed to men? If Gov. Palin was a Democrat then the National Organization of Women (NOW) would have gone crazy with rage had her background and ability to be both mother and have a job been dare questioned. But no, Republican women are persona non grata with NOW.

    But this is what politics is. Sen. McCain had a nice ad praising the significance of Sen. Obama receiving his party’s nomination on the same day as 45th anniversary of the “I Have A Dream” speech, and praised him again during his acceptance speech at the RNC. Likewise, I saw Sen. Obama give Sen. McCain some praise during his speech at the DNC, too.

    Folks, this IS what happens during the conventions – they are meant to rally the base, and attract media attention in hopes of capturing undecided voters. It is the political pundits on t.v who do the majority of the open attacks/questioning – know why?! BECAUSE IT MAKES FOR “GOOD TELEVISION” (i.e. people watch to see it, which means ratings are up, and thus the stations can charge more for adverstising). Pundits know that the more fiery they are, the more likely they will be booked for a segment (in turn getting publicity for their own web site or book they are schilling), and possibly be hired as a “correpondent” or “contributor” on a regular basis, which also allows them to supplement their paycheck.

    My job is in politics – trust me when I say that behind closed doors, most folks who are on the complete opposite sides of the political spectrum actually get along. Case in point . . . Supreme Court Justices Ruth Bader Ginsburg and Antonin Scalia (way liberal and way conservative, respectinely), are actually good friends WHO VACATION TOGETHER AND HANG OUT!!! LMAO!

    Look, can we level and admit that BOTH sides do this?! Geez.

  13. I was so interested to read this post and the comments, as my sense of what is going on in American politics at the moment has inevitably been coloured by the British media coverage. Here in the UK, the whole presidential campaign has been very much depicted as a straightforward choice between different personalities – firstly Obama vs. Clinton, and now Obama vs. McCain – and there has been very little discussion as to their actual policies.

    Though I too don’t wish to offend anyone, I cannot help but feel worried about what will happen if McCain/Palin do get in, so am relieved to hear so many of you coming out in support of Obama!

  14. hear, hear!

  15. It is so annoying, isn’t it!?

  16. one word for me:
    OBAMA

Leave a Reply

 
