just had to share this

So rather than writing some profound haiku about the fact that I wasn’t nervous until I woke up, I thought I’d share something that made me smile as I count down the hours until the social worker comes (4 hours to go). 

My dear husband, the Amazing M, makes me breakfast every morning. Except Sundays when he begs me for pancakes and I oblige because I make some pretty kick-ass pancakes.

During the week he makes me the most delicious smoothies. In fact, some day for show-and-tell I’m going to share this ritual with you. They’re filled with blueberries and raspberries, a banana, vanilla rice milk and protein, and flax oil. Really delicious, and healthy too. 

On days I work from home (yay Friday), he puts it in the fridge and usually covers it with a note — sometimes just a smiley face or signature sun with an “I love you.” He often recycles the same note, but it always makes me happy.

Well today, his note said “Today is going to be a good day!” and he drew a little picture to show his happy heart. How fucking awesome is that? That’s a rhetorical question, no need to answer. 

Sorry, honey, hope I’m not embarrassing you, but you are just the sweetest thing and I love you. 

And now, back to pretending that I’m getting any work done…

~ by luna on August 8, 2008.

11 Responses to “just had to share this”

  1. That is incredibly sweet 🙂 I look forward to hearing how everything went!

  2. VERY sweet, indeed!! My hubby makes coffee for me every day and I love it so much. It’s the little things…
    Please, please don’t worry about today. I wish I would have listened to my fellow PAPs when they tried to tell me to relax. It will be just fine and you will be surprised at how informal it will feel. Best of luck and try to relax. You have nothing to hide and you are FABULOUS!

  3. What a great space to be in for your big Interview.

    Thinking of you at. this. moment.

  4. Awwww… And I am counting down with you.
    Here’s to a good day!

  5. Hope you have a GREAT day today!

  6. AAAWWWWWWWW……..so sweet!!! BEST of luck today!!!!

  7. How did it go? Your husband is such a thoughtful awesome guy. You will be such great parents!!

  8. I ❤ Mr. W. I can’t wait to hear how it went. I’ve been thinking about you all day!

  9. He’s such a sweetie.

    I’ve been thinking about you all day, shmoopsicles. Sending good thoughts. Wondering how it was going. Well, I have to assume that it will go well in the sense that you will make it through it and it will be over and you’ll proceed. But I mean more how you felt about the whole experience.

  10. That really is pretty freaking sweet! I bet that social worker was bowled over by what a wonderful couple you are, and what amazing parents you’re going to be. Sorry I missed this earlier, but I was thinking of you and hoping all went smoothly. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts about the home study.

  11. I hope all went well yesterday and that it was indeed a good day. M is certainly amazing!

Leave a Reply

 
