show and tell: harvest time

This week, I’m sharing the bounty of our small garden harvest: big bountiful cucumbers!  

I don’t think you can really tell how big they are, but the long one was about a foot long, and the short one was about two and a half inches wide in the middle!  We’ve been waiting to pick these for a few weeks. We had watched this little cucumber plant thrive after losing two plants earlier this season. They’re called “divas” because of their “thin skin.” They were so yummy and crunchy and delicious!  

In circle time past, I shared last summer’s bountiful harvest — a most delicious salad with summer vegetables from our garden.  Last night we tried to re-create that salad featuring these cucumbers.  It was delicious!  

But now I will explain why we didn’t have even more bounty to harvest yesterday…  

Visitors to our yard have eaten every pepper (habanero and jalapeno) we’ve planted, all the wild strawberries, and a whole bunch of green zebra heirloom and luscious sungold tomatoes. (Some of you may remember I hinted about the visitors before.) This guy and his friends have also eaten all of our roses (twice!), our hydrangeas, and most of our jasmine flowers.  Just look at him! 

For more circle time fun, visit this week’s show and tell, the archives, or my previous entries

~ by luna on August 3, 2008.

15 Responses to “show and tell: harvest time”

  1. Wow. I love cucumbers. We have really good, small, thin skinned ones here they call them “kheyar” just translates to cucumber in English. But they are so much tastier and no big seeds like I remember back home. What a great garden it sounds like you have. We just planted fruit trees two days ago, babies still, mango (called “aweis” as there are like a hundred different kinds of mangoes here), lemon, avocoado, apple, apricot, peach, banana, and orange.

  2. Color me impressed. I love me a nice fresh crunchy cucumber.
    As for visitors… My parents get the same kind in their back yard. Hence an appalling competition for the yummmy little apples that grow there. Last year, the visitors totally won, and we totally lost. Bother. But they are nice to look at, aren’t they?

  3. OMG. I was all ready to hate the scoundrel, but then it’s Bambi’s mom, just trying to feed her fawn.

    Glad she let you have the cukes. They look yummy!

  4. Uhhhh…make that Bambi’s Dad.

  5. I love fresh-from-the-garden cukes. Makes me want to grow some of my own.

  6. I almost think the deer sightings would be worth the loss in veggies and flowers. Stunning.

  7. The cucumbers look yummy. I someday would love to have a garden. My cousin lives out in the country and the dear always eat parts of her garden. It drives her nuts.

  8. My goodness, that really big cucumber totally made me blush!

    Loving the deer, too. God, I miss nature sometimes.

  9. The deer is very naughty for helping himself to all your vegetables and flowers, but there again he’s also too cute for me to be truly angry on your behalf!

  10. He is one impressive deer. Check out those antlers! Love to know what the thought bubble might be above his head…he looks positively guilty.

  11. I thought the little family of deer in our neighborhood were cute until, last summer, they ate all my daylilies. Just ate the buds of the top of each one. I ended up with a summer full of work and NO BLOOMS. Man, I was pissed.

    So I deer spray a lot. And when I see them, I thoughtfully urge them to go eat my neighbor’s flowers.

  12. […] study visit this Friday and more pre-adoption busywork, we had house guests. No, not the kind of visitors that invaded our garden. Other guests, the kind that come […]

  13. Congrats on the harvest! I think your visitor has been in my garden as well – my peas got used as a bed or a rolling area!

  14. […] sausage). Then I went out back and planted three kinds of tomatoes (sungolds and two heirlooms), cucumbers (divas, because they have thin skins!), lots of basil, and an eggplant. I trimmed the mint, […]

  15. […] now — wonderful home, close to nature, great community, good neighbors, excellent schools, an edible garden, wild berries out back, etc. But we want to buy and in all likelihood, we’ll […]

Leave a Reply

 
