why I heart wordpress

So yesterday I was having major trouble loading photos to my blog. Then I realized ALL of my photos had disappeared. Every single picture I had ever uploaded from my library was GONE, vanished. Even my banner (which is a photo I took from our old carport with a crappy camera) had disappeared.

It just so happened that this was the first post from my brand new computer (hooray!), so of course I got nervous that there was something seriously wrong. After an appropriate amount of freaking out (by me) and an even longer time troubleshooting (by M), I finally realized that it wasn’t only MY blog, but other blogs too. So I emailed wordpress. 

In the past wordpress has been very responsive, always with a quick reply and resolution to any question or problem. I was really impressed when they responded so quickly to Allison at Our Own Creation when she explained why they needed to change their blog stats, and they did. 

Yesterday they replied right away that wordpress was experiencing a systemic problem, and that I could track their progress through an online forum. Staff posted five updates within a few hours until the issue was completely resolved. So by the time I got home from the movies, all my photos had returned and I was able to post a few pictures from BlogHer.  (As an aside, Heath Led.ger was so hot, even with gross makeup…)

In dealing with other big online services, I’ve rarely encountered the excellent customer and technical support I have with wordpress. And if that wasn’t enough to make me heart them, I saw this today, which means soon I’ll be able to BLOG from my new ipod-touch (which came for free with my computer!), and eventually by i-phone if we ever break down and get one… 

~ by luna on July 21, 2008.

2 Responses to “why I heart wordpress”

  1. Glad you got it worked out. And so glad you took the trip to BlogHer. Good for you for getting out there and speaking to people. That rocks and I’m glad you enjoyed yourself.

  2. Yay WordPress! And yay for new computer!

    I ❤ my iTouch and it’s lotsa fun reading bloggies from them! I love it so much that I think next year Hubby & I might actually invest in an iPhone. We like the interface with our MacBooks THAT much!

    Sounds like the BlogHer conference was fun. Glad you were able to go out and meet with the others!!

Leave a Reply

 
