Now pinch hitting…M!

M here. Let me begin by saying what a tremendous honor it is to be able to contribute to this blog.  I will be honest with you all, I was a bit intimidated to be a guest blogger on ‘life from here.’  I am one of Luna’s most dedicated fans, and have read her blog from day one.  Over the course of that time, I have gotten to know (as a lurker) a community of people whose stories and lives have touched me deeply.  I have been moved to tears on several occasions by the adversity many of you have lived through.  At the same time, the way you all have managed to keep going is a true inspiration.  I thought ‘who am I to speak to these incredible, strong women?  What do I have to share that could express how I have been so touched by you all?’  But Luna was very supportive, and not only urged me on several occasions to do this, but even honored me deeply by offering me her coveted 100th post.  So here I am.

When we lost our baby boy, I was blown away by the support Luna found online through the boards she visited.  She found a community of women that really helped her, let her know that she was not alone in what she was going through, and at the same time allowed her to help others.  Within the pain, there was a beauty to see compassion manifested in such a pure form.  As time progressed, Luna started lurking in the blogosphere.  I have always known of Luna’s ability to express herself through written word, she truly has a gift in how she can convey what she is feeling in her heart and soul.  Having watched how much she was helped, and how she in turn helped others on the boards, I tried to convey to her how much deeper that experience would be for her through a blog.  Thankfully, she followed her calling. 

In having read ‘life from here’ over the past several months, what I am repeatedly struck by is what an incredible support network you all have created here.  I never could have imagined that so much love could be generated in the cyber world, generated by a group of people who have never actually physically met each other.  But what you all have here is so much deeper than that.  It is as if you all have transcended that limitation to bond in a very spiritual sense.  I see support the likes of which I have rarely, if ever, seen between other groups of people.  In effect, you have created an atmosphere that is so therapeutic, but one that allows each individual the space to move towards healing at their own pace, surrounded by love.  It has really been beautiful to watch Luna open up and be able to begin the healing process, watch her expose herself in a way one can only do in a fully supported environment. 

By this point you can see Luna and I share a love for verbosity.  I hope I did Luna’s blog the respect it deserves, and thank you all.

~ by luna on June 8, 2008.

14 Responses to “Now pinch hitting…M!”

  1. Hi, M, and welcome!

    Seems you have a knack yourself. After you’re done placeholding (you’re doing a fine job sitting in for our beloved Luna), I vote for you telling more of your story.

    Nice meeting you.

  2. I don’t know how I would have survived without this community.

  3. I second Lori’s suggestion. You yourself have a flair with words that runs parallel to Luna’s. There are male IF bloggers spattered around here and there, and this community is just as theraputic for them as it is for the ladies. Maybe writing more here, or even writing a blog tandem to Luna’s would be good for you, too. One thing is for sure – Luna is incredibly lucky to have such a wonderfully supportive husband.

  4. Nice to finally “meet” you, M! I second (or third?) the motion for you to keep writing. The elusive male perspective is always welcomed!

  5. Lovely to meet you M. This community is wonderful, isn’t it. Thank you for supporting it, and the lovely Luna within it. Looking forward to another guest-post — and happy 100!

  6. Lovely to meet you, M – we’ve all heard so much about you! This is indeed an extraordinary community, which has helped so many of us as we struggle with infertility. Thank you for encouraging Luna to become a part of it – in the few months that I have known her, she really has become a great source of support to me. I am constantly amazed by her strength, and the wisdom and beauty of her writings.

    Please know that I am thinking of you both as you remember and mourn for your son.

  7. I, also, discovered Luna’s blog way back when she bagan blogging, and I was immediately drawn to her writing – It’s wonderful to “meet” you, and I look forward to hearing more from you while Luna is away.

  8. Wow this is so great to see. I wish my hubby would be a part of my blogging world. I’ve encouraged him to read my blog or just write down his thoughts. Infertility affects us all in so many deep ways and not just the women. I agree with everything you said whole heartedly about this community and about Luna.. 🙂 Its so great to see such a supportive husband who sees the beauty in all of this.

  9. Hi M:

    Thank you for writing. Sometimes the hubbies think their wives have gone off the deep end when they spend so much online, when what they are doing is trying to connect to others and even themselves. If you want to write some of your stuff down here, go right on ahead, we’ll be here for you too.

  10. Hi M! I must be off the emotional deep end tonight, because your post made me just as weepy as Luna’s posts always do. Her ability to pour her heart into her words, to just lay it all bare on the screen, often strikes a deep chord inside me. I went through 2 1/2 years of infertility before I found this online community a few months ago. Now I don’t know how I survived.

    If you’re willing to take up the challenge, we almost never get to hear a man’s point of view, let alone a man who’s story we already have heard from another side. Post more for us while Luna is away?

  11. Hey M! Nice to “meet” you…you have captured the essence of why this community has been such a healing force for so many — myself included.

  12. M,
    Great to hear your perspective. Glad to meet you.

  13. […] it’s once a week, sometimes 3-4 times). Yet I hit 101 at six months, just after offering up number 100 to M for his debut (and sole) post, and here we are six months later with another 100 […]

  14. […] were a few things for which I am grateful that got me through this year. One was M, pure and simple. Two was this blog, this space. Three was work, having a meaningful outlet for my […]

Leave a Reply

 
