show and tell: harvest past

Show and Tell

This is the first and best salad we made last summer from our little garden harvest.  These tiny sungold tomatoes burst sweetness right in your mouth, and the romas were the best of the season.  The cucumber was the freshest and crunchiest I’ve ever tasted, and we harvested just that one. The mint was just picked and so aromatic (also great for mojitos — hmm, I sense a future show-and-tell entry…).  We picked up the homemade creamy feta and fresh baked crusty bread at a small town cheese shop, grilled up some goodies and enjoyed a summer feast…  

For more circle time fun, check out the latest show and tell, and also the archive.  

And while you’re over there, be sure to wish Mel a Happy Birthday (for Monday)!

~ by luna on May 31, 2008.

22 Responses to “show and tell: harvest past”

  1. Besides the feta…YUM! See, those are the best meals–where you not only made the food, but you grew the food. It makes me miss keeping a garden. But I was terrible at it. The cucumber slices are beautiful. I just ate dinner, but that picture is making me hungry.

  2. Wow. My cucumber plants are barely up and my tomat’s are about 3 months from fruit. ..

    Looks incredible!

  3. Oh I am drooooooooooooooooling! That looks so yummy – that’s my kind of salad!

  4. Can’t. Stop. Salivating.

    You bring the mint, I’ll supply the deck :-).

  5. Looks delicious and so healthy!

  6. WOW FANTASTIC.. i want to eat that right now! CUCUUMBERS!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Tha salad looks beautiful and very yummy! It makes me wish I could garden.

  8. This looks fabulous. Are you planning to grow your own salads again this summer?

  9. Isn’t it great when you can get everything from your garden or from local shops!!?

  10. Yum!! The colors are all so pretty, I can almost taste it from here!

  11. I am so totally craving a salad now!

  12. You’re making me hungry.

  13. Yum, that looks heavenly! I could go for one of those right now! Just bought my plants yesterday (late I know)! I can’t wait to get our own harvest!

  14. Great photo! Gardening is the one thing that makes me happy right now. How about a picture of your current garden?

  15. *drool*

    MUST.HAVE.GREEK.SALAD…. NOW!

  16. Mmmmmm . . . so hungry! There’s nothing like a great, fresh salad, huh?

  17. OK, now I’m hungry…!!

  18. Oooooh! What a delicious salad. I should not have looked at this photo before supper because now I’m rethinking what I should make!

    Yummy.

  19. Ah, mint and good feta! Music to my ears (and eyes)…

  20. I want that salad. Can you share the precise recipe. I want it to look exactly like yours. Exactly.

  21. […] circle time past, I shared last summer’s bountiful harvest — a most delicious salad with summer […]

  22. […] now — wonderful home, close to nature, great community, good neighbors, excellent schools, an edible garden, wild berries out back, etc. But we want to buy and in all likelihood, we’ll have to move […]

Leave a Reply

 
