show and tell: iris evolving

Thanks, Mel, for the inspiration (I’ll bet you were an excellent student)! There’s not much to “tell” here, so I’m just going to cheat “show” and let the pictures do the talking. These were taken from our garden over the past two weeks. Enjoy!


~ by luna on May 16, 2008.

17 Responses to “show and tell: iris evolving”

  1. Beautiful!!

  2. Gorgeous!

  3. Lovely, Luna! It’s so cool to capture the development of the flower like that. You always take such lovely, living portraits of plants.

    And croissants. Any more of those in your collection? 🙂

  4. Your photographs are always so gorgeous. I love seeing the garden through your eyes.

  5. Those are some AMAZING photos, wow. Garden’s good too:-)

  6. Stunning. I love how vibrant the purple is! I wish I could grow more than weeds in my garden. I really hope the roses take hold! 🙂

  7. I want these by my gate. Can you split some this fall and send me a few? Pretty please?

  8. Thank you so much for sharing these beautiful pictures. My mother had purple irises growing in our yard – I haven’t seen anything quite as stunning since I left home in 1991. Thank you for helping to take me back and giving me a smile.

  9. Simply lovely. I adore purple iris …

  10. Beautiful. I’m working on being able to take pictures like that.

  11. I adore irises. When I was a child, I lived in a house that had purple irises that smelled like candy, and I was madly in love with them. By an interesting twist of fate, I bought that house several years ago. I was devestated to discover that the last tenant, who had recently been evicted, had dug up the irises, but then thrilled to find one tiny root left. I nutured it, and now have several healthy clumps. I believe them to be the offspring of the candy-smelling irises of my childhood, and they bring me back there every spring. Any day now they will burst open, and I can’t wait.

  12. WOW! I would have never found your blog w/o our Mel; now to see these beautiful photos of my favorite flower. My FAVORITE! Thank you! May I steal them? How dear $$$?

    Alyson LID 01/27/06

  13. What absolutely goregeous photos! Irises are one of my favourite plants…

    Happy birthday, Luna!

  14. Such vibrant colors…what a green thumb you possess!

  15. Gorgeous! Absolutely gorgeous.

  16. So beautiful! You really have a gift for gardening. And photography!

  17. […] skins!), lots of basil, and an eggplant. I trimmed the mint, rosemary and lavender, and admired the irises in full bloom and some roses on the way. Even with a chill in the damp air rather than the warm sun on my back, it […]

Leave a Reply

 
