forever yum

Many thanks again for all of your warm wishes and good thoughts. The love in our little corner of the web is truly heartwarming. A thousand thanks. 

So I’ll be checking out for a few days — I imagine my google reader will be stuffed when I return. Until then, I leave you with this, my most favorite cake in the universe. It’s a magnificent molten chocolate lava cake, served best warm and gooey. (This is for Beagle, JJ, Rachel and Lynn — celebrating the week of our birth with chocolate!)

This cake is absolutely heavenly with any combination of fresh whipped cream or vanilla ice cream, luscious raspberries or strawberries. Or just by itself, dusted with powdered sugar and oozing its yummy goodness from within. mmmmmmmm. I promise it’s easy. It’s just chocolate, butter, eggs and sugar. All you need is a springform pan, a hand mixer and some bowls. Best. Cake. Ever. Seriously. (Thank you Tyler Flo.rence, you rock!) 

And finally, if I haven’t lost you to chocolate fantasies, I want to share this… I am not a religious person. I am awed by nature and art above all. I honor my ancestors, find sanctuary in a redwood grove, and prayer in a song or poem. Somehow it is fitting that I leave you with this “prayer” of an old Bob Dylan song, “Forever Young”. It is simply a beautiful wish I have for myself and those I love. (And no, JJ, this is not my booty shaking tune, I’ll have to get back to you on that!) Peace out. 

“Forever Young,” Bob Dylan (1973)                                          

May God bless and keep you always,
May your wishes all come true,
May you always do for others
And let others do for you.
May you build a ladder to the stars
And climb on every rung,
May you stay forever young,
Forever young, forever young,
May you stay forever young.

May you grow up to be righteous,
May you grow up to be true,
May you always know the truth
And see the lights surrounding you.
May you always be courageous,
Stand upright and be strong,
May you stay forever young,
Forever young, forever young,
May you stay forever young.

May your hands always be busy,
May your feet always be swift,
May you have a strong foundation
When the winds of changes shift.
May your heart always be joyful,
May your song always be sung,
May you stay forever young,
Forever young, forever young,
May you stay forever young.

~ by luna on May 15, 2008.

14 Responses to “forever yum”

  1. Yum yum!! Thanks for the delicious cake fantasy! I am back from my trip and just checking in. Thanks also for the Forever Young song – I need this as I am turning 37 in a week and feeling OLD!

  2. I can taste it! Mmmmm . . .
    Thanks again and peace be with you too!

  3. Happy happy birthday!!

    And wow that cake looks fantastic!

  4. Dh is a huge Dylan fan & “Forever Young” is one of his favourites! The cake looks amazing!

    Have a great weekend!

  5. Lovely weekend to you, Luna. And you will be posting the recipe for that, soon, right?

  6. Happiest of birthdays to you dear Luna. (I can feel that molten love cake attaching to my thighs already!)

  7. Wishing you a great birthday and a wonderful, relaxing joyful weekend. Hoping this year brings peace, no matter the form that takes.

    You are amazing, luna. I hope every birthday wish comes true for you!

  8. What do I have to do to get an invitation to the Molten Lava Fest?

    I’ll do it. Whatever it is.

    Have a wonderful time this weekend, Luna. And shake that booty.

  9. Oooo yum, yum, yum! I will share my 14 layer chocolate homemade cake with you;)
    Thanks for the birthday wishes–Ill be thinking of you this weekend and hoping you are having a nice relaxing time!
    Be sure to get that booty shakin’ in 😉

  10. That is one of my favourite songs.

  11. Tyler, I mean that cake, is making me salivate! I do love me some Tyler, though. Ooo wee!

    Many thanks for your kind comments on my blog. They are very much appreciated. Wishing you a bon voyage and the happiest of birthday weekends.

  12. Thank you! And I *love* molten chocolate cake. Yum!!

  13. I’m off all caffeine including chocolate and that picture is just torture. Thank goodness I can’t smell it! Happy birthday!

  14. […] seems to resonate with others are themes of infertility and loss. Some of you came out for the molten chocolate cake, I know, so I didn’t want to […]

Leave a Reply

 
