ma vie en rose

Many thanks to Kymberli, who has graciously bestowed upon me (and others) the inaugural pink rose award.  Subfertile mother of four and also a gestational surrogate, Kymberli has a huge heart of gold to match her generous sense of humor. I think what must make Kym an excellent surrogate is not only her experience with infertility but also her incredible capacity for empathy.  This is one good egg. 

So why a pink rose? Of course there’s a story — there’s always a story (click above to learn more). The short answer to why Kym would give pink roses to bloggers who inspire or who may struggle is best expressed in her own heartfelt words: 

“How many times have you wanted to let them know that they are appreciated and that you find them and their words beautiful? How many times have you wanted to lift someone up and said a silent prayer that she or he would be able to heal? How many times have you felt a fellow blogger’s isolation and wanted reach out to let them know they weren’t alone?”

I told you, heart of gold. I think I first encountered Kym through cyclesista (or was it Mel?), as we were preparing for our respective cycles in February. I was getting ready for my FET and she was gearing up for IVF as a gestational surrogate for a new set of intended parents. Our transfers were a day apart. Kym encouraged me every single step of the way, sending kind words of support and good thoughts through comments and email.

Days before my FET, Kym shared a special song that has helped her through several successful cycles (there’s a story there, too). She sent me an MP3 of the groovy tune “Happy Feelings,” which I promptly listened to, over and over, including on our way to and from the transfer. It was just about the sweetest thing, guaranteed to make you smile. If Kym didn’t have a place in my heart already, she secured one with this single sweet, thoughtful gesture.

So thank you Kym, for the pink rose, for your happy feelings, and for your kindness. 

And now, I am honored to pass along the pink rose to…

STE at So Dear and Yet So Far, who is trying to find her way through darkness. Since losing her twins to P-PROM in December after infertility, she has found a raw yet beautiful voice to express her sorrow. I’ve often wanted to reach out and help hold her up, knowing that pain so well. With her due date looming, this past weekend marked the anniversary of her mother’s death, and her sister also just lost twins. And it’s mother’s day. I think this woman deserves a whole bed of pink roses. 

Peesticksandstones, whose setbacks have not set her off course. Her writing is honest with hints of humor, and I often find myself nodding along with the flow of her thoughts. After suffering several early losses, she was recently diagnosed with a whole host of issues she will now try to overcome, with some help of course. She lives in one of the coolest cities on earth and has no room for a garden of her own. But mostly I just want to say you go girl. 

There are so many women to whom I’d love to pass along the pink rose. What about you?

How to pass it on:
1. On your blog, copy and paste the award, these rules, a link back to the person who selected you, and a link to this post: 
http://smartone.typepad.com/smartone/2008/05/pink-is-my-favo.html. You will find the story behind the Pink Rose Award and other graphics to choose from there. 
2. Select as many award recipients as you would like, link to their blogs (if they have one), and explain why you have chosen them. 
3. Let them know that you have selected them for an award by commenting on one of their posts. 
4. If you are selected, pass it on by giving the Pink Rose Award to others. 
5. If you find that someone you want to nominate has already been selected by someone else, you can still honor them by posting a comment on their award post stating 
your reasons for wishing to grant them the award. 
6. You do not have to wait until someone nominates you to nominate someone else. 

~ by luna on May 10, 2008.

6 Responses to “ma vie en rose”

  1. Awww, Luna! You’ve just made my day (quite an accomplishment considering what day today is…).

    Again and again you and so many others have been like an invisible hand to hold in the darkness — in those scary, scary times when I feel like the only person on earth being “punished” somehow.

    Big, big hugs to you and everyone out there today!

  2. Thank you, thank you, thank you, Luna! I can’t imagine how long it took you to go through an scrounge up all those links. I am honored. Deeply.

  3. I think this is the loveliest ‘award’ I’ve ever seen

  4. Happy birthday this week, sweet Luna!

  5. Very nice.

    And happy birthday.

    Between you, me and Beagle we make a nice IF birthday group, fo sho.

  6. Thank you, Luna! And best wishes for a wonderful birthday!

Leave a Reply

 
