b e a u t i f u l v i s i o n

Empty heart
   rising sorrow
      darkness
        where you once grew 

You were every hope
   every wish
     every prayer 
You were all we ever wanted 

You were a dream
    a fleeting moment of bliss
     a glimmer of life…

You found your way
   only so far 
You came into our lives
   and brought us joy
     you gave us hope
      brightening, enlightening 

You showed us a vision
   our creation
     of love
       of purpose 

You showed us what matters
   more than anything
     more than everything

But I will never feel your heart
   or hear your cry 
I will never have the chance
   to tell you again
     how loved you are
       how cherished
         how treasured

Now I am drifting
   through a vast sea     
    longing for meaning
      seeking hope
       yearning for grace and light
        through darkness…

Mourning a life never lived
   a song unsung
     a child never known 

Oh, to see what this dream
   could have been…
This Beautiful Vision ~
   a sublime glimpse
     of you, of us
       of splendor and joy
Then to wake
   and surrender to another day
     without you

The vision now faded from our midst
   just an aching memory
     a dream lost ~ taken

Yet beyond despair
   is your gift
     how precious a life
       how sacred a bond

Though part of me was lost with you
   you are always with me ~

You are part of my soul, my spirit
   you inspire a dream anew     
So from this hope may spring renewal
       for new life to begin again…

You will live deep in our hearts forever, never to be forgotten…

 ~ February 3, 2006 ~

To our first baby boy ~
with all the love we never got to give you 
may you find your way back to us one day…

~ by luna on February 2, 2008.

7 Responses to “b e a u t i f u l v i s i o n”

  1. You sure have a way with words, don’t you? Beautiful.

    I’m so incredibly sorry for your loss. Thinking of you (and your baby boy).

  2. How beautiful, Luna. I’m sending out big HUGS your way today and tomorrow (and the next day and the day after that … you get the point).

  3. I’m so sorry you didn’t get to see your baby boy grow up. So very sorry.
    Thinking of you both today xx

  4. *sniffle* Thinking of you & your baby boy.

  5. Your words have touched my heart- your sweet boy was with you longer, but the hopes and dreams were still the same- I am thinking of you, your husband and your precious angel this week. The words that you have written will be with me as I remember my sweet angels anniversary next week. It brings me comfort to know that my angels and yours are playing together watching over us until that day when we are able find our way back to one another. Keeping you in my thoughts and sending you love and peace.

  6. […] a post on February 29 in honor of the memory of those we have lost.  And so, I leave you with this, which I have shared before but seemed […]

  7. […] the second anniversary, I shared the poem I wrote when he died. After writing about my grief process, I had nothing more to say. That spring I […]

Leave a Reply

 
