they plump when you cook ’em…

So my ovaries are bigger than tangerines but my eggs are just not done cooking yet.  My RE was out of town today so I saw another doc who was ready to trigger me tonight, but (thankfully) consulted with my doc who wants to cook those eggs one more day.  Folly count is still good, about 20 total, with 10 over 14mm and 10+ between 10-12mm.  Among the “top ten” we’ve got 3 at 14mm, 3 at 15mm, 1 at 16mm,  2 at 17 mm and 1 at 18 mm.  Since we are doing ICSI, they can only use fully mature eggs, so my RE is going for bust and hoping to ripen as many as possible by Tuesday morning.  As of now, it sounds like one more night of stims and some final early morning monitoring.  If everything looks good, we will trigger tomorrow (Monday) night for retrieval on Wednesday.  I’d get the fertilization report on Thursday for transfer on Saturday.  It all feels kind of surreal.  I suppose I won’t believe it’s really happening until we get the fertilization report.  For now, just keep on growing my little pretties… 

one more thing…  Earlier this week I vented posted an “open letter” to some of the expecting mothers in my life (who in all likelihood will never read it, though it still felt good to write).  Thanks so much for your kind and generous responses, and especially for sharing the sentiments with others.  It means so much to know that the thoughts swirling inside my head actually resonate with some of you who have been down this road, or who may still be there now.  At the same time I’m honored to be able to contribute to this wonderful community of support in some way.   I know how bfp announcements can sting, no matter what the source.  And I’m trying hard to reconcile my sorrow and not grow into an angry or bitter woman unable to share the joy of those I love…  Also, I realize that some women fall pregnant easily but have trouble staying pregnant or face horrible late-term losses due to fatal diagnoses.  And we all know women who have struggled through infertility or loss and came through the other side yet still had to worry about getting past every milestone until they could (finally) feel like they might actually bring home a baby.  I don’t know that this road is any “easier” for them.  I just think we all deserve to have our turn(s)…     

~ by luna on December 16, 2007.

One Response to “they plump when you cook ’em…”

  1. WOOHOO!!!! Grow follies grow!

    Sounds like you guys are well on your way to a good result come ER. I’m hoping for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
