borrowed baby love

We snuck in some baby love yesterday with my adorable little cousin-niece (read all about her here and here).  I can’t believe she is already nine months old. We hadn’t seen her in a few months due to her parents’ busy schedule, and I guess ours since we never seem to be available at the same time. 

So when a window of opportunity opened, we took some time away from all of our stuff and spent some quality time with this sweet baby girl. We held her tight, took her for a nice walk, read her some books, danced to some bluegrass, and snuggled and nuzzled with her on the couch until nap time.

At one point, she kept reaching back and forth between M and me, and we passed her so many times that we were practically hugging with her in between us, beaming up at us with her big blue eyes. She would climb over one of us to get to the other, then nestle herself in between us and start smiling and laughing. I just wanted to squeeze her and nibble her cute little pudgy butt. I didn’t squeeze too hard, but I did get to kiss her belly and cheeks. 

Then, fighting sleep, she plopped her head down on my chest as her body relaxed into a little sigh — and the world stood still for that beautiful moment. Her sweetness was enough to make your heart swell.

~ by luna on September 21, 2008.

11 Responses to “borrowed baby love”

  1. Beautiful. :)

  2. How very wonderful. I had some of that in church yesterday.

  3. Ah…so perfect. Hey….my family loves to put on some bluegrass and watch all the babies/kids dance. Some of my most treasured memories are when my Dad would put on some bluegrass and my 4 brothers and sisters and I would twirl and stomp around the living room.

  4. So sweet! Baby love is great :)

  5. THAT sounds like a perfect moment. May I link?

  6. I love babies. I wish I allowed myself to enjoy them nowadays as you have. I just got my daily dose of cuteness…thanks!

  7. Thank you for visiting my website via bridges at kidsofqueers.com.
    What a beautiful post. When my daughter died a few days before birth and after another miscarriage, my brother insisted on bringing my 9 month old niece over for a visit right away. Everyone objected because they somehow thought it would make me sad. It was the best thing anyone could ever do since she and I were as close as could be. She lifted my spirits immensely. Thank you for sharing.

  8. I remember the first time I held my niece, she curled up asleep on my chest and I felt I could die right there, completely content, having done everything.

  9. Reading that made my heart swell. Really. When I was seventeen, I babysat for a 5-month old girl and, really, the best part of my day was when she rested her heavy head on me and slept.

    A wonderful, wonderful feeling. Glad you got some.

  10. [...] little girl is a real love. Though I nearly had a breakdown at her baby blessing ceremony over a year ago. So yeah, her [...]

  11. [...] Luna and her husband are the bread in a borrowed-baby [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

